Lexpert Ranked Law Firm
 
 
 

Koskie Minsky LLP is a firm of skilled counsel advising clients in the areas of civil litigation, union side labour law, pensions and benefits and class actions. We are recognized by Lexpert® and other organizations as among leading counsel in Canada in our areas of expertise and among the highest ranked in the fields of labour, pension and employment law in the Greater Toronto area. Most of our 21 partners are ranked as recommended practitioners in the Lexpert® and Best Lawyers directories, for such areas as labour and employment law, construction labour relations, pension and benefits, class action litigation, professional liability, construction law and workers compensation. They are supported by a very capable team of skilled associates, paralegals and top law students. We are located in Toronto and appear before courts, tribunals and arbitrators across Canada. Our clients include pension funds, trade unions, boards and commissions, insurers, corporations and non-profit groups, as well as individuals seeking access to courts and tribunals. Our lawyers are regularly involved in complex, high profile litigation and we provide the technical, research and staffing resources required to handle these cases.

For more information regarding our practice areas please contact any of our 12 partners ranked in this Directory, as well as any of our partners or counsel listed below.

Labour Law:                 E-mail   Telephone                 Facsimile                   
Craig Flood*** cflood@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2105 (416) 204-2883
Laurie Kent lkent@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2708 (416) 204-2905
Alan Minsky, QC aminsky@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2121 (416) 204-2891 
Ernie Schirru* eschirru@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2142 (416) 204-2893
Stephen Wahl swahl@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2060 (416) 204-2820
       
Pension and Benefits Law:    
Murray Gold mgold@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2085 (416) 204-2873
Andrew Hatnay* ahatnay@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2083 (416) 204-2872
Michael Mazzuca** mmazzuca@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2101 (416) 204-2881
Susan Philpott sphilpott@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2104 (416) 204-2882
Roberto Tomassini rtomassini@kmlaw.ca (416) 595- 2116 (416) 204-2908
Mark Zigler mzigler@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2090 (416) 204-2877
       
Pension and Investments Law:
   
George Dzuro gdzuro@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2078 (416) 204-2829
       
Civil Litigation:      
Al Esterbauer  aesterbauer@kmlaw.ca  (416) 595-2110 (416) 204-2886
Arleen Huggins ahuggins@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2115 (416) 204-2888
Jeffrey Long** jlong@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2125 (416) 204-2892
Nancy Shapiro*  nshapiro@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2108 (416) 204-2884
Demetrios Yiokaris dyiokaris@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2130 (416) 204-2810
       
Class Action Litigation:    
Kirk Baert* kbaert@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2117 (416) 204-2889
Celeste Poltak** cpoltak@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2701 (416) 204-2909
Jonathan Ptak jptak@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2149 (416) 204-2903
David Rosenfeld drosenfeld@kmlaw.ca (416) 595-2700 (416) 204-2894

*Department Coordinator
**Executive Committee Member
***Managing Partner

Toronto

20 Queen St W, Suite 900, Box 52
Toronto, ON, Canada, M5H 3R3
Phone: (416) 977-8353
Fax: (416) 977-3316

Read more about Koskie Minsky LLP in...

Big Deals, Suits or Real Estate Transactions

Mentioned in Lexpert Publications

  • After the disappointing jurisprudential results experienced by Canadian business in 2015, the landscape more than evened out this past year — which is not to say that Canadian appellate courts ...
  • A door to preemption may be opening in Canada. And while multi-jurisdictional product-liability class actions remain uncertain, the mass tort movement has found increasing favor.
  • Each Canadian province has its own class-action statute, which means US clients may still face five or six overlapping class actions, each one bogged down by interlocutory motions and appeals.
  • Court rules that equitable subordination can only be applied under the language of the CCCA
  • The rules around Canadian class actions — for decades, a work in progress — have finally found some measure of clarity. Could the Wild West era be over?
  • Damage caps and other restrictions for shareholder class actions appear to have worked. Whether that is a good thing depends who you ask
  • Class action reform aims to help smaller businesses fight antitrust infringement
  • Secured creditors facing prioritization concerns in insolvency proceedings can take comfort from the Ontario Court of Appeal’s recent decision in Grant Forest Products v. Toronto-Dominion. The court ...
Koskie Minsky LLP is a Lexpert-Ranked Firm in the following practice areas
Class Actions Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Labour Relations Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Labour Relations - Construction Sector Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Pensions & Employee Benefits Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Professional Liability Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Find a Koskie Minsky LLP Lexpert-Ranked Lawyer in the:
Search Results: