2018 Zenith Award Winners


Sarah D. Hansen, Miller Thomson LLP

Environmental Law A Partner in Miller Thomson LLP’s Commercial Litigation group, Sarah Hansen has expertise in environmental and Aboriginal law. Her outstanding track record of success relative to others in this field is at a notably high level of complexity. She represents clients through environmental assessments both federally and provincially and in contaminated sites litigation. Hansen led the firm’s team working with a First Nation in opposing a proposed copper and gold mine. As a result, the provincial ministers did not grant approval for the mine. Hansen is on the organization committee for the Canadian Bar Association’s National Environmental, Energy and Resource Law Section 2017/2018 Summit.

Stephanie Hickman, Cox & Palmer

Construction Law With extensive experience in construction litigation and mediation, Stephanie Hickman has helped pave the way for more women to pursue and advance in a male-dominated industry and practice area. She has worked on the largest construction projects in Newfoundland and Labrador over the last five years, notably the construction of the Processing Facility at Long Harbour, the Muskrat Falls Hydro Project and the Maritime Link. Hickman chairs her firm’s regional Construction Law Group and was named a Fellow of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers, a significant honour as she is the only Fellow currently practising in her province.

Shari Hosaki, HarperCollins Canada and Harlequin

Intellectual Property As Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Shari Hosaki provides strategic business and legal advice to the organization and senior leadership teams of HarperCollins Canada, as well as Harlequin North America and the Global Editorial and Swiss Licensing and Royalty business units. She oversees the legal and contract administration teams, providing oversight of all corporate, commercial and intellectual property matters, compliance requirements and contract administration. Hosaki has been Chair of the JCCC Foundation, and a board member of the Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre and the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation.