National Bank- First Marathon

National Bank of Canada and First Marathon Inc. have agreed to a proposed plan of arrangement whereby National Bank would acquire all the shares of First Marathon for approximately $712 million. The plan of arrangement was submitted to shareholders at a First Marathon Shareholders meeting held in August at which 99. 9% of the shareholders voted in favour of the merger. Throughout the lengthy negotiations leading to the merger, National Bank was represented by Tory Tory DesLauriers & Binnington and First Marathon by Fogler, Rubinoff. The Torys team included Peter Jewett, James Turner, Kathleen Keller-Hobson, Krista Hill, Karrin Powys-Lybbe, Fern Glowinsky, Michael Pickerskill, John Unger, Christina Medland, Peter Fritze, Beverley Liske, and Raymond Archer. The Foglers team included Lloyd Fogler, Q. C. , Lorie Haber, Irwin Greenblatt, Monique Rabideau, Gary Litwack, Avi Greenspoon, Dale Denis, and Eric Roblin.