A.G. Simpson Files For Court Protection

A.G. Simpson Co. Limited and its Canadian and U.S. subsidiaries have filed for court protection under the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act and Chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code. A.G. Simpson is privately owned, it is the sixth-largest automotive parts manufacturer in Canada and one of the top 100 parts manufacturers in North America. The matter is still ongoing.

A.G. Simpson is represented by Lisa Boulton, general counsel; and by Jay Swartz, Cam Rusaw, Matthew Gottlieb and Matthew Milne-Smith of Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP. U.S. counsel for A.G. Simpson’s U.S. subsidiaries are Joseph Fischer, Robert Weisberg, Lawrence Lictman and Christopher Grosman of Carson Fischer in Birmingham, Michigan.

Counsel for Congress Financial Corporation, the primary secured lenders of A.G. Simpson, are Joseph Latham, Jean Anderson, Candy Schaffel, Graham Smith and Justin Beber of Goodmans LLP; Douglas Bacon, Donald Schwartz and Mishel Keta of Latham & Watkins in Chicago; and Robert Diehl, Jr., and Marc Bakst of Bodman, Longley & Dahling LLP in Detroit. Counsel for General Motors Corporation are Robert Weiss, Don Baty and Frank Gorman of Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohen LLP in Detroit; and James Grout of ThorntonGroutFinniganLLP.

DaimlerChrysler Corporation is represented by in-house counsel Kim Kolb. Ford Motor Corporation is represented by Terence Dolan (bankruptcy & restructuring), F. Paul Morrison and Darryl Cruz (litigation) of McCarthy Tétrault LLP; and by Stephen LaPlante of Jaffe, Raitt, Heuer & Weiss, P.C. Toyota Motor Corporation is represented by John Sawyer of Sawyer & Glancy in Lexington, Kentucky.

Simpson International Inc., a major creditor, is represented by Peter Griffin and Peter Osborne of Lenczner Slaght Royce Smith Griffin. The Canadian landlords are represented by Michael Rotsztain and James Baillie, Q.C., of Torys LLP; and by Sheldon Disenhouse, Christina Kobi and Jeffrey Blidner of Goodman and Carr LLP. Frank Luce represents the Canadian Auto Workers.


Robert J. Diehl, Jr. Jay A. Swartz Jeffrey M. Blidner Robert A. Weisberg Mishel Keta Peter Griffin Donald F. Baty Jr. Christopher Grosman F. Paul Morrison Cameron M. Rusaw Matthew Milne-Smith Matthew P. Gottlieb J. Douglas Bacon James H. Grout Terence M. Dolan Darryl A. Cruz Joseph Latham Stephen S. LaPlante Christina C. Kobi Michael B. Rotsztain Frank Gorman Justin Beber Graham D. Smith John S. Sawyer Joseph M. Fischer Sheldon L. Disenhouse Donald Schwartz Robert B. Weiss Marc M. Bakst Jean E. Anderson


Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Carson Fischer, P.L.C. Goodmans LLP Latham & Watkins LLP Bodman LLP