Grupo Bimbo acquires Canada Bread

Canada Bread Company, Limited announced that Grupo Bimbo, S.A.B. de C.V. of Mexico completed the acquisition of Canada Bread, by way of a plan of arrangement, for aggregate cash proceeds of $1.83 billion.

Grupo Bimbo was represented by Torys LLP with a team including Michael Siltala, Raegan Kennedy, Melissa Prado and Matt Kuchinsky (M&A); John Unger (tax), Mitch Frazer and Tom Stevenson (pension and employment); Omar Wakil and Rebecca Moskowitz (competition and Investment Canada); Ed Fan and Kevin Tuohy (intellectual property); David Dell and Richard Missaghie (real estate); Tyson Dyck (environmental) and Andrew Gray (litigation). Luis Miguel Briola Clément and Norma Castaneda led Grupo's in-house team.

Maple Leaf Foods Inc., who owned 90 per cent of Canada Bread, was represented by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP with a team including Michael Innes, Donald Gilchrist, Rob Hughes, Tara Law and Victoria Au (M&A); Shuli Rodal and Jordan Giurlanda (competition and Investment Canada); Firoz Ahmed and Drew Morier (tax); Adrian Hartog and Kevin Chen (real estate); Damian Rigolo (employment), Kelly Moffatt (intellectual property), Dan Kirby (environmental) and Laura Fric (litigation). The Special Committee of Maple Leaf Foods Inc. was represented by Goodmans LLP with a team including Stephen Halperin and Sheldon Freeman (M&A); Susan Zimmerman (opinions), Alan Mark (litigation), Joe Conforti (employment) and Carrie Smit (tax).

Canada Bread was represented by Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team including Simon Romano, Amanda Linett, Daniel Howard (M&A), Katy Pitch (tax), Michael Kilby (competition) and Alex Rose (litigation).


Simon A. Romano Drew Morier Adrian P. Hartog Raegan Kennedy Edward Fan Laura K. Fric John Unger Susan C. Zimmerman Tyson W. Dyck Omar K. Wakil Katy Pitch Michael J. Siltala Kelly L. Moffatt Mitch Frazer Michael Kilby Stephen H. Halperin Joe Conforti Sheldon Freeman Kevin J. Tuohy Tara Law Firoz Ahmed Robert Hughes Alan H. Mark Carrie B.E. Smit C.W. Daniel Kirby Amanda Linett Andrew D. Gray Michael D. Innes Damian J. Rigolo Shuli Rodal Alexander Rose