IAMGOLD Acquires Cambior

On November 8, 2006, IAMGOLD Corporation of Toronto successfully completed its approximately $1.2 billion acquisition of Quebec-based Cambior Inc., creating the world's 10th-largest gold producer. Structured as a Cambior plan of arrangement under the Companies Act of Quebec, IAMGOLD issued 0.42 IAMGOLD shares for each outstanding Cambior share and made corresponding adjustments to outstanding Cambior options and warrants. Following the acquisition and merger of operations, IAMGOLD will have a market capitalization of more than $3 billion and its shares will be listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange.

IAMGOLD was represented by its senior vice-president and general counsel, Larry Phillips, and a mergers and acquisitions team from Stikeman Elliott LLP led by Elizabeth Breen, which also included Vivian Leung, Jonathan Weisstub and Ivan Grbesic (M&A); John Lorito (tax); Shawn Neylan and Michael Kilby (competition); Marc Barbeau, Maxime Turcotte and Vanessa Coiteux (M&A) and Marc-André Coulombe (litigation). IAMGOLD was represented on US matters by Gil Cornblum and Eric Halverson of Dorsey & Whitney LLP.

Cambior was represented by its general counsel, Marc Dagenais and in-house legal counsel Lucie Desjardins and André Lebel, who used a McCarthy Tétrault LLP team in Montreal led by Benjamin Silver, which also included Patrick Boucher, George Maziotis and Thomas Laporte Aust (M&A); Frédéric Harvey and Ylang Ha (tax); Stephen Schenke and Marc-André Landry (litigation); Yves Comtois (competition); Véronique Wattiez-Larose (intellectual property) and Andrée-Claude Bérubé (environmental). Cambior was represented on US matters by Robert J. Grammig and Richard Hadlow of Holland & Knight LLP. TD Securities and BMO Nesbitt Burns provided financial advice to IAMGOLD and Cambior, respectively.


Thomas Laporte Aust Elizabeth Breen George Maziotis Shawn C.D. Neylan John G. Lorito Marc-André Landry Marc-André Coulombe Ylang Ha Ivan Grbesic Benjamin Silver Patrick Boucher Marc B. Barbeau Stephen G. Schenke Vivian Leung Andrée-Claude Bérubé Michael Kilby Véronique Wattiez Larose Maxime Turcotte Vanessa Coiteux Frédéric Harvey