JSC Atomredmetzoloto Acquires Uranium One

JSC Atomredmetzoloto (ARMZ), through its wholly owned subsidiary, acquired all of the issued and outstanding common shares of Uranium One Inc. that ARMZ and its affiliates did not already own by way of a plan of arrangement. The transaction provided total consideration to minority shareholders of approximately $1.3 billion.

ARMZ was represented by Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team that included Amanda Linett, Alethea Au and Christopher Yung (M&A); John Lorito and Katy Pitch (tax); Susan Hutton (competition), Kelly O'Ferrall (employment), Andrea Boctor (pensions) and Eliot Kolers (litigation). Theodore Kassinger of O'Melveny & Myers LLP was US counsel to ARMZ. Ashurst LLP was Australian counsel to ARMZ with a team of Mark Stanbridge, Tanya Denning and Ben Langford.

Uranium One was represented in-house by John Sibley, executive vice president, general counsel and secretary; Jane Luck, vice president and legal counsel; and Bozidar Crnatovic, legal counsel. External representation was provided by Goodmans LLP with a team of Jonathan Lampe, Neill May, Rob Kallio, Geoff Cowper-Smith and Jeremy Weisz (corporate and M&A); Alan Bowman (tax) and Tom Friedland and Peter Kolla (litigation); and Dorsey & Whitney LLP in the US with Christopher Doerksen (corporate), Nelson Dong and Larry Ward (national security); and William Prince, Wells Parker and Shannon Heim (regulatory).

The special committee of Uranium One was represented externally by a team from Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP. The Cassels team included Paul Stein, Jeffrey Roy, Pollyanna Lord, Carolyn Stroz and Afzal Hasan (M&A).


Paul M. Stein Neill I. May Andrea Boctor Kelly O'Ferrall Eliot N. Kolers Amanda Linett Peter Kolla Susan M. Hutton Robert Kallio Thomas A. Friedland Bozidar Crnatovic L. Jane Luck Pollyanna Lord John G. Lorito John M. Sibley Jeffrey P. Roy Jonathan Lampe Geoff Cowper-Smith Alan Bowman Katy Pitch Alethea Au


Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP Dorsey & Whitney LLP Ashurst LLP Goodmans LLP O'Melveny & Myers LLP Stikeman Elliott LLP