KCP Income Fund Completes IPO

KCP Income Fund completed, on August 23, 2002, its initial public offering of trust units, raising $225 million in gross proceeds. At closing KCP acquired the securities and assets of KIK Corporation Holdings Inc. The offering was underwritten by a syndicate led by CIBC World Markets Inc., and including National Bank Financial Inc., BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. and TD Securities Inc.

KCP was represented by Goodmans LLP in Toronto, with a team that included Stephen Halperin, Stephen Bloom, Susan Garvie, Neill May, Meredith Roth, Robert Vaux and Mark Spiro (corporate/securities), Carrie Smit, Maureen Berry and Alan Bowman (tax), Mark Surchin, Kari MacKay and Gesta Abols (banking) and Ken Herlin, Jeff Shore and Jim McLellan (real estate).

Goodwin Procter LLP provided U.S. advice to the fund, with a team that included Andy Boyd and Laura Hodges Taylor (corporate/securities), Evan Jones and Jon Schneider (banking), Sam Richardson (real estate) and Bill Whitledge, Brett Goldberg and Assaf Hamdani (tax) in Boston.

The underwriters were represented by Goodman and Carr LLP, with a team that included Lawrence Chernin, Fraser McDonald, Ramandeep Grewal and Peter Laflamme (corporate/securities) and Bernard Morris and Peter Jovicic (tax).

Bank financing for the acquisition was provided by a syndicate of banks consisting of CIBC, National Bank of Canada, Bank of Montreal and The Toronto-Dominion Bank. The banking syndicate was represented by Stikeman Elliott in Toronto, with a team that included Jamie Davis, Craig Mitchell, Dean Koumanakos, Samantha Levy and Michael Burkett (banking), Mario Paura and Chris Hanson (real estate) and David Glicksman (tax). Simpson Thacher & Bartlett was U.S. counsel to the banking syndicate, with a team that included Gregory Weiss, Julian Chung and Carlo de Vito Piscicelli


Asaf Hamdani Julian S. H. Chung Chris J. Hanson Mark Spiro Gesta A. Abols Stephen H. Halperin Peter Laflamme Alan Bowman Craig Mitchell Kari MacKay Dean Koumanakos Jeffrey Shore Evan Jones Jim McLellan William H. Whitledge W. Fraser McDonald Gregory A. Weiss Samantha Levy Maureen Berry Robert Vaux Susan A. Garvie Mark Surchin Andrew J. Boyd Carrie B.E. Smit Brett M. Goldberg Michael Burkett C. Mario Paura James C. Davis Neill I. May Stephen D. Bloom David W. Glicksman Lawrence S. Chernin Ramandeep Grewal Carlo de Vito Piscicelli Ken Herlin Peter Jovicic Laura Hodges Taylor


Goodmans LLP Goodwin Procter LLP Stikeman Elliott LLP Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP