MetaSolv Acquires Nortel Assets

On February 1, 2002, MetaSolv Software, Inc., a leading global provider of solutions that help communications providers and businesses manage their traditional and next-generation networks and services, completed the acquisition of certain assets of Nortel Networks Limited's service commerce operation support system (OSS) business for US$35 million plus the assumption of certain liabilities. MetaSolv is headquartered in Plano, Texas.

The acquisition was structured as an asset purchase that included software assets of Architel Systems Corporation, which was acquired by Nortel in 2000, and certain additional assets of Nortel service management and business management OSS groups. In addition, MetaSolv will maintain relationships with Nortel pursuant to a reseller agreement. Deutsche Banc Alex. Brown advised MetaSolv, and Credit Suisse First Boston Corporation advised Nortel.

MetaSolv was led in-house by Jonathan Hustis, vice-president, business services, and general counsel. Vinson & Elkins LLP in Dallas, Texas acted as counsel to MetaSolv, with a team including Jeffrey Chapman, Mark Early and Michael Monroe (corporate) and G. Harvey Dunn III (intellectual property). Aird & Berlis LLP acted as MetaSolv's Canadian counsel, with a team comprising Jay Lefton and Richard Kimel (corporate), Eldon Bennett (labour and employment), Peter Czegledy (licensing), Barbara Lawrie (pensions and benefits), William VanderBurgh (competition) and Barbara Worndl (tax).

Nortel was led in-house by Khush Dadyburjor, vice-president (mergers and acquisitions); Andrea Cromie, senior manager (mergers and acquisitions); and in-house counsel Robert Fishman (mergers and acquisitions). Stikeman Elliott acted as external counsel to Nortel, with a team comprising Darin Renton, Darren Littlejohn and Justin McKellar (corporate), Mirko Bibic (intellectual property), Lorna Cuthbert (labour and employment) and Jason Gudofsky (competition).


Peter K. Czegledy Jason L. Gudofsky William G. Vanderburgh Mark Early Jay A. Lefton Mirko Bibic Richard M. Kimel Lorna A. Cuthbert Barbara J. Worndl Darren Littlejohn Darin R. Renton Eldon Bennett Jeffrey A. Chapman