New Foundation Formed

On October 1, 2002, the restructuring of The Sunnybrook Foundation (TSF), Orthopaedic and Arthritic Foundation (O&AF), Women’s College Hospital Foundation (WCHF) and Sunnybrook & Women’s Campaign Foundation (SWCF), all Toronto hospital foundations, came into effect. The restructuring involved the amalgamation of TSF, O&AF and SWCF to form Sunnybrook and Women’s College Health Sciences Centre Foundation (the New Foundation) and also involved the transfer of certain assets by WCHF to the New Foundation. WCHF has adopted the new name of Women’s College Health Trust (WCHT).

After one year of extensive negotiations involving complex governance, trust, corporate, tax and intellectual property issues, the restructuring was unanimously approved by the members of each foundation. The New Foundation will be responsible for active fundraising, donor stewardship and recognition on behalf of Sunnybrook and Women’s College Health Sciences Centre (S&W), which was formed upon the amalgamation of Sunnybrook Hospital and the Orthopaedic and Arthritic Hospital and the transfer of the rights, obligations, assets, liabilities and medical records of Women’s College Hospital pursuant to directions of the Health Services Restructuring Commission in 1998. WCHT will continue to receive donations for existing endowment funds from donors on a passive basis and such funds will be maintained in accordance with their terms by WCHT.

TSF was represented by Tom Ouchterlony of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. O&AF was represented by Cliff Goldfarb and Arlene O’Neill of Gardiner Roberts LLP in Toronto. WCHF was represented by Shanon Grauer (corporate), Hilary Laidlaw (charities/trusts) and Danielle Bush (intellectual property) of McCarthy Tétrault LLP in Toronto, and in-house by Geoffrey Seymour, vice- president and counsel, WCHF. SWCF was represented by Lynne Golding and Cynthia Heinz (corporate), Elena Hoffstein (charities/ trusts) and Colleen Spring Zimmerman (intellectual property) of Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP in Toronto.


B. Lynne Golding M. Elena Hoffstein Geoffrey M. Seymour Cynthia L. Heinz Colleen Spring Zimmerman Shanon O.N. Grauer Arlene D. O'Neill Danielle M. Bush Clifford S. Goldfarb Hilary E. Laidlaw