Nexxlink Technologies Acquires CGI Group Assets

On October 21, 2003, Montreal-headquartered Nexxlink Technologies Inc., a provider of integrated information technology solutions, acquired from a subsidiary of Montreal-headquartered CGI Group Inc., some of its assets relating to integrated management systems software package suites and other services targeted to municipalities, healthcare bodies, as well as manufacturing and distributions companies, for a purchase price of $21 million. As part of the transaction, Nexxlink and CGI entered into a long-term business alliance pursuant to which both parties agreed to act as priviledged suppliers of their products and services for their respective clients.

Concurrently with this acquisition, Nexxlink Technologies entered into a new $15 million credit facility with National bank of Canada. National Bank Financial Inc. acted as financial advisor to Nexxlink Technologies for the acquisition and the banking arrangement.

Nexxlink Technologies was represented by Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP, with a team led by Louis-François Hogue and Jocelyn Lafond (corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions), and including Patricia Gagnon (corporate and commercial), Eric Bédard and Karine Martel (labour), Martin Michaud (intellectual property), Martin Racicot and Johanne Chambers (banking) and Christine Malenfant (real estate).

CGI Group was represented in-house by Andre Bourque, senior vice-president and CLO, and by McCarthy Tetrault LLP with a team led by Jean-Rene Gauthier and Isabelle Synnott (corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions), and including Han-Ru Zhou (corporate and commercial), Jacques Vezina (labour), Veronique Wattiez Larose (intellectual property) and Mylany David (real estate).

National Bank of Canada was represented by McCarthy Tétrault, with a team that included Michel Deschamps and Martin Sills.


Patricia Gagnon Véronique Wattiez Larose Karine Martel Louis-François Hogue Johanne Chambers Martin Racicot Jocelyn Lafond Christine Malenfant Martin Sills Mylany David Isabelle Synnott Martin Michaud