PowerStream, Enersource and Horizon amalgamate, forming Alectra

On January 31, 2017, PowerStream Holdings Inc., Enersource Holdings Inc. and Horizon Holdings Inc. amalgamated to form Alectra Inc. Immediately after their amalgamation, Alectra Inc.’s subsidiaries, PowerStream Inc., Enersource Hydro Mississauga Inc. and Horizon Utilities Corp. amalgamated to form Alectra Utilities Corp. Alectra Utilities Corp. is expected to complete its acquisition of Hydro One Brampton Networks Inc. on February 28, 2017.
The resulting entity is one of the largest municipally owned electricity utilities in Canada. Alectra Utilities Corp. serves approximately one million homes and businesses in the Greater Toronto-Hamilton Area, and is operational within a 1,800-square-kilometre service territory comprising 15 Ontario communities.

The communities that are now served by the amalgamated companies are Alliston, Aurora, Barrie, Beeton, Brampton, Bradford, Hamilton, Markham, Mississauga, Penetanguishene, Richmond Hill, St. Catharines, Thornton, Tottenham and Vaughan.

PowerStream was represented by in-house counsel
Dennis Nolan and Vinay Mehta and by Gowling WLG with a team composed of Robert Hull, Edward Johnston, Leila Burden Nixon, Andrew Zed and, separately, for the shareholders of PowerStream (the cities of Vaughan, Markham and Barrie), with a team led by Paul Harricks. Paul Carenza provided tax advice to both PowerStream and its shareholders.

Enersource was represented by
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG). The team from BLG was composed of James Elder, Mark Rodger and Linda Bertoldi, Bernadette Corpuz, Robert Eeuwes and Pierre Permingeat (corporate), Robert Weir (employment), James Sidlofsky (regulatory), Stephen Fyfe and Danny Lang (tax).

Horizon was represented by Lawrence Wilde, Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, and by
Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team composed of James Harbell, Matthew Cameron, Colin Burn and Bessie Qu.


Dennis C. Nolan Vinay Mehta Robert G.S. Hull Paul H. Harricks James R. Elder J. Mark Rodger Linda L. Bertoldi Stephen J. Fyfe James W. Harbell