Rogers Wireless Issues US$500M Senior Secured Notes

On May 2, 2001, Rogers Wireless issued US$500 million senior secured notes due 2011 to a group of initial institutional purchasers headed by Salomon Smith Barney. The initial purchasers acquired the notes pursuant to 144A of the US Securities Act, and Rogers Wireless agreed with the initial purchasers, in a registration rights agreement, to qualify the notes with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for public distribution in the United States. The registration statement containing the final prospectus was declared effective by the SEC on May 29, 2001.

Torys and Cravath, Swaine & Moore acted for Rogers Wireless, and Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP and Shearman & Sterling acted for the initial purchaser of the notes. The Torys team was headed by John McIninch with the assistance of David Chaikof, Suh Kim, John Emanoilidis, John Toffoletto and Jim Welkoff (tax) and Heather Hisey and Peter Ballantyne (Rogers Private Companies). The Cravath team was headed by John Gaffney with the assistance of Damien Zoubek, Julia Rearden-Hamly and Stephen Gordon. The Davies team was headed by Patricia Olasker with assistance from Patrick Barry and Geoffrey Turner (tax). The Shearman team was headed by Brice Voran with assistance from Jason Lehner, Richard Crofts and Jennifer Mazin.


Jennifer A. Mazin Peter D. Ballantyne Patrick G. Barry Richard J. Crofts Stephen L. Gordon John Toffoletto Jason Lehner David A. Chaikof Suh W. Kim John W. McIninch Damien R. Zoubek James W. Welkoff John E. Emanoilidis Patricia L. Olasker Geoffrey S. Turner


Torys LLP Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Shearman & Sterling LLP