The Bank of Nova Scotia Acquires Schwab Canada

The Bank of Nova Scotia acquired Charles Schwab’s Canadian operations on February 28, 2002 for an undisclosed amount. Charles Schwab Canada, Co. is a wholly owned subsidiary of retail broker giant Charles Schwab & Co. Inc., based in San Francisco.

Representing Scotiabank were John Morton, director, head of retail compliance; and James McCartney, Q.C., Stephen Clark, Barry Ryan, Jonathan Grant, Richard Shimoda, Martha Hundert and Tara Cutler (corporate), Glen MacArthur (competition) and Ronald Schwass (regulatory) of McCarthy Tétrault LLP. John Warren, Prema Thiele and Laurie Cook (corporate/securities), Victoria Prince (intellectual property/corporate), Larissa Tkachenko (tax), Rebecca Chan, Erin Seed and Judith Michaely (corporate), Matthew Certosimo (labour/employment), Robert Russell and Davit Akman (competition) and Noella Milne (real property) of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP acted for Charles Schwab & Co. Larry Smith of Howard, Rice, Nemerovski, Canady, Falk & Rabkin PC in San Francisco acted for Charles Schwab & Co. in the U.S.


John F.T. Warren Eva Chan Victoria Prince Noella M. Milne Jonathan R. Grant Judith Michaely Richard T. Shimoda Erin C. Seed Laurie J. Cook Prema K. R. Thiele James C. McCartney Glen G. MacArthur Larissa V. Tkachenko Davit D. Akman Stephen D.A. Clark Robert S. Russell Matthew L.O. Certosimo Martha R. Hundert Ronald R. Schwass


McCarthy Tétrault LLP Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG) Howard Rice Nemerovski Canady Falk & Rabkin