United States Steel Acquires Stelco

October 31, 2007 a wholly owned Canadian subsidiary of United States Steel Corporation completed its acquisition of Stelco Inc. pursuant to a court approved plan of arrangement for a purchase price of approximately $1.2 billion. The acquisition also involved the repayment of approximately $750 million of existing Stelco Inc. debt.

United States Steel Corporation's legal team was lead by James Garraux, Robert Stanton, Joseph Napoli and Richard Munsch. Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP acted as Canadian counsel to United States Steel Corporation with a team consisting of Donald Ross, Donald Gilchrist, Richard Borins, Chad Bayne, Janet Howard, Jennifer Oosterbaan (corporate), David Tetreault, Alex Pankratx (tax), Paul Crampton, Shuli Rodal (regulatory), Larry Lowenstein, Laura Fric (litigation) and Douglas Rienzo (pensions and benefits). Morgan, Lewis & Bockius acted as US counsel to United States Steel Corporation with a team consisting of Marlee Myers and Ryan Hopkins.

Stelco Inc. was represented by in-house counsel D. Chad Hutchison and McCarthy T├ętrault LLP, with a team that included Blair Cowper-Smith, David Tennant, Henry Wiercinski, Daryl McLean, Andrew Parker, Orysia Semotiuk and Victoria Everett (business law), Oliver Borgers, Glen MacArthur and Michele Siu (regulatory), Michael Barrack, Jessica Amey and Kenneth Morris (litigation), Jamey Gage (bankruptcy & restructuring) and James Morand (tax). Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP acted as US counsel to Stelco Inc. with a team consisting of David Golay (corporate), Robert Cassanos and Lisa Levy (tax).

The Ontario Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund was represented by Goodmans LLP with a team that included Rob Chadwick, Daniel Gormley, Gale Rubenstein, Susan Zimmerman (corporate and restructuring), Susan Rowland (pensions) and Benjamin Zarnett (litigation).


Oliver J. Borgers Chad Bayne Janet L. Howard Richard M. Borins Kenneth Morris Andrew C. Parker Robert J. Chadwick Orysia Semotiuk David T. Tetreault Shuli Rodal Glen G. MacArthur Donald C. Ross Susan C. Zimmerman Jessica L. Amey Michele Siu James G. Morand Larry P. Lowenstein Benjamin Zarnett Laura K. Fric Susan Rowland Alex Pankratz Jamey D. Gage Michael E. Barrack Gale Rubenstein Victoria Everett Douglas Rienzo David B. Tennant G. Blair Cowper-Smith


Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP McCarthy Tétrault LLP Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP Goodmans LLP