WAste Management Inc. Subsidiary Acquires Browning-Ferris Units

In a transaction that closed on March 31, 2000, Canadian Waste Services Inc. (CWS) a subsidiary of Waste Management Inc., completed acquisitions of certain commercial, roll-off and recycling waste collection businesses of Browning-Ferris Industries Ltd. (BFIL), a Canadian subsidiary of Allied Waste Industries, Inc. CWS acquired BFIL’s commercial waste collection, roll-off and recycling businesses in Toronto, Halifax, St. John’s, Brandon, Kenora and Nanaimo. CWS has also acquired some predominantly roll-off and recycling businesses in Alberta, Manitoba and Nova Scotia. CWS also expects to complete the acquisition of BFIL’s landfill in Red Deer and BFIL’s interest in a disposal business in Halifax upon receiving certain consents and regulatory approvals.

The Canadian Competition Bureau has reviewed the competitive implications of the transaction, and did not object to CWS acquiring the above businesses. However, as a result of discussions with the bureau, CWS will not be acquiring a number of BFIL’s operations in other major Canadian cities. Also, the Bureau has objected to CWS acquiring the Ridge Landfill in Southwest Ontario. However, CWS and the Bureau have agreed that CWS may complete the acquisition of the Ridge landfill, provided that CWS holds the Ridge landfill separate and apart from the other operations of CWS pending the resolution of an application by the Bureau that CWS divests its interest in the Ridge. CWS is opposing such application.

Stikeman Elliott is acting for Waste Management Inc. and CWS with a team that includes Lawson Hunter Q.C., Shawn Neylan and Paul Collins (competition), Curtis Cusinato and Wayne Shaw (corporate), Kevin Kelly (tax), Larry Cobb and Mario Paura (environmental and real property) and Lorna Cuthbert (employment). Davies, Ward & Beck is acting for Allied Waste Industries and BFIL with a team led by John Bodrug and that includes Andrew Welsh and Dany Assaf.


Lorna A. Cuthbert Larry Cobb Wayne E. Shaw Shawn C.D. Neylan Paul Collins John D. Bodrug Lawson A.W. Hunter Andrew Welsh C. Mario Paura Dany H. Assaf Curtis Cusinato


Stikeman Elliott LLP Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP