Aurico Gold Acquires Northgate Minerals

Leading intermediate Canadian gold and silver producer AuRico Gold Inc. (TSX: AUQ, NYSE: AUQ) completed its acquisition of Northgate Minerals Corporation (TSX: NGX, NYSE Amex: NXG).

AuRico purchased Northgate for $1.5 billion. The acquisition was carried out by way of a plan of arrangement and was approved by the Supreme Court of British Columbia. Shareholders of both AuRico and Northgate voted overwhelmingly in favour to approve AuRico's acquisition of Northgate at their respective special meetings of shareholders each held on October 24, 2011. Under the terms of the acquisition, AuRico acquired all of the issued and outstanding common shares of Northgate on the basis of 0.365 of an AuRico common share for each common share of Northgate.

AuRico was advised on the Canadian legal aspects of this transaction by a team from Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP that included John Turner, Richard Steinberg, Gregory Ho Yuen, Krisztián Tóth, Christopher Steeves, Paul Braczek, Kelly McDonough, Huy Do and Mark Magro; and Tracey Cohen, Blair Horn and Mark Hawkins of the firm's BC of-fice. Kirkland & Ellis LLP was AuRico's US counsel with a team led by Jeffrey Symons and Jason Zachary.

Northgate Minerals was led by VP and General Counsel Matthew Howorth and represented by Torys LLP in Canada and the United States with a team that included Kevin Morris, Alison Harnick, Peter Jewett, John Emanoilidis, James Miller, Thomas Miller, Gabi Mandowsky, Robbie Leibel, Miranda Callaghan, Kevin Wall (Toronto corporate); Andrew Gray (litigation); Chris Roehrig and Daniel Raglan (US corporate); Andrew Wong, Corrado Cardarelli, Richard Johnson, Peter Keenan and Ari Feder (tax); Omar Wakil and Damian Liddle (regulatory); Dennis Mahony (environmental); Mitch Frazer and Reesha Hosein (employment) and John Terry (First Nations).


Huy A. Do Robbie Leibel James Miller Andrew D. Gray Peter E.S. Jewett Andrew Wong Kevin M. Morris Mark Hawkins Thomas Miller Christopher J. Steeves Corrado Cardarelli Damien Liddle Omar K. Wakil Peter Keenan Gregory Ho Yuen Mitch Frazer Matthew J. Howorth Tracey M. Cohen Paul Braczek Blair J.H. Horn Gabrielle Mandowsky Krisztián Tóth Dennis E. Mahony Alison Harnick Richard J. Steinberg Reesha N. Hosein John S.M. Turner John E. Emanoilidis Mark D. Magro