.ca Registry is Successfully Transfered to CIRA

On December 1, 2000, the .ca domain name registry was successfully transferred from the University of British Columbia (UBC) to the Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA). The transfer from the volunteer organization at UBC to CIRA will provide a streamlined and swift process for those wanting to register and re-register .ca domain names. Since November 8, 2000, CIRA’s certified registers had been accepting new .ca registrations under the broader rules, and activating them in the UBC system. Effective December 1, .ca names are now activated directly in the CIRA system.

CIRA is a not-for-profit organization mandated by the Canadian Domain Name Consultative Committee to operate the .ca top-level domain. It is responsible for setting policy, managing and operating the .ca domain database, and registering domain names through its network of certified registrars.

A team from Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP was called upon by CIRA to work on the structuring of the new registry system and the transfer of responsibility from UBC. Blakes assisted CIRA on corporate governance and relations with governments and international organizations having an interest in the .ca domain, and drafted agreements for registrars and registrants, as well as rules and policies relating to the operation of the .ca domain. In addition, Blakes advised CIRA on, and is preparing policies, rules and agreements for, an alternative dispute resolution procedure.

Bernard Turcotte, Executive Director of CIRA, and the CIRA board, including chair Maureen Cubberley and vice-chair Glen Bloom—a partner of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP—instructed Blakes on the project. Sheldon Burshtein (technology and domain names) and Beth Gearing (corporate/commercial) have primarily responsibility for the Blakes team, which is comprised of over twenty lawyers. Among the key contributors to the project are Alan Aucoin and Jeff Galway (dispute resolution), Szab Gall (technology), David Fruitman (international), Kim Harle and Yukiko Kojima (corporate/commercial), Greg Kanargelidis (commodity tax) and Kathleen Penny (income tax).


Szabolcs Gall Sheldon Burshtein Kimberly A. Harle J. Alan Aucoin Jeff W. Galway Kathleen V. Penny Greg Kanargelidis Beth Gearing Yukiko Kojima