CanWel Building Materials Group Completes Sale of Hardware Division

On November 15, 2010, CanWel Building Materials Group Ltd. (“CanWel”) completed the sale of its hardware division to Tim-BR-Marts Ltd. (“TBM”) for $50 million in cash.

CanWel was represented by Goodmans LLP. The Goodmans team was led by Michael Partridge and included Kirk Rauliuk and Brian Savage (corporate/securities); David Veneziano (tax); Daniel Shapira (real estate) and Jean Anderson and Grant Coad (banking). Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP acted as special regulatory counsel to CanWel with a team that included John Bodrug and Elisa Kearney. Mark Hilton of Bernard & Partners acted as local counsel to CanWel in British Columbia; David Grout of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP acted as local counsel to CanWel in Alberta and Daniel Frajman of Spiegel Sohmer acted as local counsel to CanWel in Québec.

TBM was represented by Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP in Calgary with a team led by Pierre Magnan including Jason McCormick and Lorie Wheeler (corporate/securities); Thomas Cumming (banking) and Greg Lindsey (tax); and in Toronto by Susan Rosen (real estate); Bruce Graham and Ian Macdonald (regulatory) and Michael Bussman (tax); and in Montréal by Alain Lalonde (real estate).

HSBC Bank of Canada, which provided credit financing to TBM in connection with the transaction, was represented by Borden Ladner Gervais LLP with a team consisting of Scott McLeman in Calgary, Caroline Émond and Darina Bashilova in Montréal and Josée Virgo in Ottawa.

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP represented Wells Fargo Capital Finance Corporation Canada, CanWel's senior lender, with a team consisting of Daryl Clark and Bahar Hafizi in Vancouver and Ian Binnie in Toronto.


Darina Bashilova Daniel Lawrence Frajman Grant Coad Pierre Magnan Thomas Cumming Greg S. Lindsey Daryl E. Clark Michael Partridge Brian Savage Scott McLeman Susan D. Rosen Josee I. Virgo Alain Lalonde Ian J. Binnie John D. Bodrug Bruce M. Graham Caroline Émond J. Jason McCormick Michael Bussmann David A. Grout Jean E. Anderson Bahar Hafizi Mark W. Hilton Kirk Rauliuk Lorie Wheeler R. Ian Macdonald Daniel Shapira Elisa K. Kearney David Veneziano


Goodmans LLP Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Bernard & Partners Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP Spiegel Sohmer Gowling WLG Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG) Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP