Crew Energy Acquires Caltex Energy

On July 1, 2011, Crew Energy Inc. completed the acquisition of Caltex Energy Inc., a private oil and gas company, for approximately $600 million comprising the issuance of common shares of Crew Energy and the assumption of Caltex net debt. The acquisition was completed pursuant to a plan of arrangement under the Business Corporations Act (Alberta).

Crew was represented by Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP with a team led by Michael Sandrelli, and including Jacob Hoeppner and Lonnie Tetley (securities); Jeff Fortin and Heather Digregorio (tax); Gina Ross (employment) and Jody Wivcharuk (competition).

Caltex was represented by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP with a team led by Donald Boykiw, and including Rummy Basra and David Rankin (corporate); Stan Ebel and Robert Lee (tax); Damian Rigolo (employment) and Peter Glossop (competition).


Damian J. Rigolo Stanley R. Ebel Gina A. Ross Jody L. Wivcharuk P.L. (Lonny) Tetley Donald M. Boykiw Jeff Fortin Jacob Hoeppner Peter L. Glossop Heather DiGregorio Robert Lee Rummy K. Basra Michael D. Sandrelli


Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP