Datawind completes IPO and commences trading on the TSX

DataWind Inc. (“DataWind”) completed its initial public offering in Canada of 6,316,000 common shares at a price of $4.75 per common share for gross proceeds of $30,001,000 (the “Offering”) and commenced trading on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol “DW”.

DataWind is a leader in low-cost Internet connectivity for emerging markets . DataWind’s Internet Delivery Platform offers a low-cost Internet browsing solution by bundling an affordable tablet device with an inexpensive, pre-paid, 2G Internet service plan.

The Offering was made through a syndicate of underwriters led by Canaccord Genuity Corp. and including National Bank Financial Inc., Cormark Securities Inc. and Haywood Securities Inc.

DataWind was represented in Canada by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP with a team led by Shahir Guindi and including Bastien Gauthier, Jeremy Brisset and Sophie Amyot (corporate/securities); Mark Brender, Antoine Stebenne and Marc Richardson Arnould (tax); Donna White, Barry Fong and Clark Holden (IP); and Jason Comerford (U.S corporate/securities) and Paul Seraganian (US tax); in the United Kingdom by White & Case LLP with a team led by Philip Broke and including Sarah Steed and Alison Cheung and in India by Manpreet Sood from Sood & Sood, Advocates. DataWind was also assisted by Robert Lord from Osha Liang LLP on various US and international intellectual property matters.

The Underwriters were represented in Canada by Borden Ladner Gervais LLP with a team led by Manoj Pundit and included Krstina Skocic and Linda Tu (corporate/securities); Brandon Evenson (IP) and Natasha Miklaucic (tax); in the United States by Dorsey & Whitney LLP with a team led by Richard Raymer and included Daniel Nauth; in the United Kingdom by Speechly Bircham LLP with a team led by Daniel Rosenberg and included Paul Arathoon, and in India by Trilegal with a team led by Charandeep Kaur and included Ramakant Rai and Prithwijit Gangopadhyay.


Shahir Guindi Bastien Gauthier Mark D. Brender Donna G. White Barry Fong Clark Holden Jason Comerford Paul Seraganian Manoj G. Pundit Krstina Skocic Brandon Evenson Natasha Miklaucic