Deloitte Completes Andersen Transaction

On June 4, 2002, Deloitte & Touche LLP completed a transaction with Arthur Andersen LLP in which approximately one thousand former Andersen partners and employees have joined Deloitte & Touche. The transaction was structured to provide stability and continuity for Andersen Canada’s client base, while at the same time avoiding the transfer of liability from Arthur Andersen to Deloitte & Touche.
While transactions involving the various Andersen national practices have been announced throughout the world, the Canadian transaction is one of the first to close and has resulted in Deloitte & Touche becoming the largest professional services firm in Canada.
Deloitte & Touche LLP general counsel Kenneth Fredeen, together with associate general counsel George Begic, directed the transaction, assisted by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, with a team led by Terry Burgoyne and including George Addy, John Black, Dana Easthope, Karen Galpern, Tim Gole, Jason Hanson, John Layton, Paul Litner, Dan Logan, Brian Morgan, Fred Myers, Shelley Obal, Richard Pratt, Tracy Sandler, Steve Sansom and Lynne Woollcombe.
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP acted for Andersen, with a team including Yannick Beaudoin, Brad Berg, Rob Collins, Anoop Dogra, Chris Cyrenne, Michael Fabbri, Neil Finkelstein, Peter Gilchrist, Anne Glover, Cal Goldman, Frank Guarascio, Mike Harquail, Kevin McElcheran, Colleen Myers, Mark Nicholson, James Papadimitriou, Michael Piaskoski, Derek Rogers, Paul Schabas, Susan Slattery, Jillian Swartz and Mark Tomek.


Steve Sansom John A. Black W. Jason M. Hanson Calvin S. Goldman Bradley E. Berg Neil Finkelstein Frank D. Guarascio Richard S. Pratt George N. Addy Tracy C. Sandler Christopher C. Cyrenne J. Rob Collins Paul W. Litner Tim Gole Terrence R. Burgoyne Mark J. Nicholson D. James Papadimitriou F. Daniel H. Logan Derek L. Rogers Paul B. Schabas Kevin P. McElcheran Michael Piaskoski Colleen E. Myers Karen Galpern J. Ab Estephan Dana Easthope Michael Fabbri Anoop Dogra Yannick Beaudoin Anne Glover Jillian Swartz Peter W. Gilchrist Shelley W. Obal John F. Layton Fred Myers