First Quantum Minerals Completes $345M Overnight Marketed Public Offering

On April 6, 2009, First Quantum Minerals Ltd. completed a $345 million overnight marketed public offering in Canada and a concurrent private placement in the United States and United Kingdom of approximately 9.3 million common shares, including 1.2 million common shares issued in connection with the exercise in full by the underwriters of the over-allotment option. The underwriting syndicate was led by Morgan Stanley & Co. Inc. and RBC Capital Markets and included BMO Capital Markets, Scotia Capital Inc. and UBS Securities Canada Inc.

First Quantum was represented by Christopher Lemon, in-house counsel, and Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP acting as Canadian counsel with a corporate/securities team that included John Sabetti, John Turner, Jeff Hergott, Amanda Fullerton and Amira Abouali in Toronto; Sarah Lafleur in Johannesburg; and Mitch McCormick and Lata Casciano in Vancouver. Ashurst LLP acted as UK counsel to First Quantum with a team that included Nick Williamson and Sarah Moore. Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP acted as US counsel to First Quantum with a team that included Boris Dolgonos and Barbra Broudy.

McCarthy Tétrault LLP acted as Canadian and UK counsel to the underwriters with a team that included Robert Brant (corporate/securities, London, UK); Jonathan Grant, Lara Nathans, Leila Rafi and Jo-Anna Brimmer (corporate/securities, Toronto); Roger Taplin, Sam Adkins and Adam Wanke (mining, Vancouver); Jean-Philippe Buteau (mining, Québec) and James Morand (tax, Toronto), and in the United States by Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, with a team that included Christopher Morgan, David Beeston, Julie Breau and Erin Gustafson (corporate); Aaron Feinberg (tax) and John Amodeo (environmental).


Lara Nathans John S.M. Turner Amira V. Abouali Samuel W.C. Adkins John M. Sabetti Roger R. Taplin Jean-Philippe Buteau James G. Morand J. Mitch McCormick Jo-Anna Brimmer Lata C. Casciano Leila Rafi Christopher W. Morgan Amanda M. Fullerton Robert J. Brant Boris Dolgonos Jeff Hergott Jonathan R. Grant Adam D. Wanke John Amodeo


Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP Ashurst LLP Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP McCarthy Tétrault LLP Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP