Irdeto Holdings Acquires Cloakware Inc.

On November 30, 2007, Irdeto Holdings, a Dutch firm specializing in digital content security and a subsidiary of the multinational media group Naspers, completed the acquisition of all of the issued and outstanding shares of Cloakware Inc., a privately held software company for $72,500,000.

Naspers, an integrated multinational media group with its principal operations in electronic media, grossed over US$2.6 billion in 2007. Irdeto provides comprehensive solutions for content protection in digital TV, IPTV and mobile environments and has corporate headquarters located near Amsterdam, the Netherlands and Beijing, China. Irdeto offers both hardware and software based solutions and works with an impressive list of leading industry partners to create end-to-end solutions for any pay media business servicing more than 300 customers in 60 countries.

Cloakware's software solutions protect more than one billion applications and the assets of some of the world's largest, most recognizable and technologically advanced companies. Customers include Texas Instruments, Pioneer Electronics, NXP (founded by Philips), State Street, and Vodafone, representing enterprise, government, content distributors and manufacturers of consumer electronics, mobile devices, PCs and software. Cloakware is headquartered in Vienna, Virginia and has offices in Ottawa, Ontario and the UK, and regional sales offices throughout the United States.

In connection with the acquisition, Irdeto was represented by US counsel from Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, with a team comprised of Stephanie Evans, Michael Holter, Richard Dyer and Abigail Baker; and by Canadian counsel of Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP, with a team that included Eric Smith, Catherine Coulter and Duane Milot and Michael Beairsto.

Cloakware was represented by US counsel from Arnold & Porter LLP, with a team comprised of Kevin Lavin, David Valeck, Amanda Newby, Andrew Norman and Melinda Freyfogle; and by Canadian counsel of LaBarge Weinstein Professional Corporation, with a team that included Deborah Weinstein, Lawrence Weinstein, Shane McLean, Colin Wrynn, Estelle Duez and Dineen Beath.


Shane McLean Deborah L. Weinstein Lawrence Weinstein Duane R. Milot Michael G. Beairsto Estelle Duez Eric J. Smith Catherine P. Coulter


Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering Dentons Canada LLP Arnold & Porter LaBarge Weinstein LLP