KGHM Polska Miedz Acquires Quadra FNX Mining

Quadra FNX Mining Ltd. (“Quadra FNX”) and KGHM Polska MiedŸ S.A. (“KGHM”) completed a court-approved plan of arrangement whereby an indirect, wholly owned subsidiary of KGHM acquired all of the issued and outstanding common shares of Quadra FNX for total cash consideration of approximately $3 billion. Quadra FNX is now an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of KGHM and changed its name to KGHM International Ltd. effective March 12, 2012.

KGHM was represented by Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP with a team in Toronto that included William Ainley, Peter Hong, Robin Upshall and Tracie Allan (M&A); Ian Crosbie and Raj Juneja (tax); Natasha vandenHoven (labour & employment) and George Addy, Richard Elliott and Erika Douglas (competition/antitrust); and a team in New York comprising Gerald Shepherd and Paul Watkins (M&A) and Scott Semer (tax). KGHM was represented in Poland by Dariusz Tokarczuk and Rafal Dziedzic of Gide Loyrette Nouel.

Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP advised the special committee of Quadra FNX with a team that included Paul Stein and Jeffrey Roy (mining and M&A) and Jennifer Hansen and Sandra Maio (securities). Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP acted as counsel to Quadra FNX with a team led by Peter O'Callaghan and Andrew McLeod and that included Steven McKoen, Susan Tomaine, Jonathan Hoyles, Mischa Zajtmann and Hila Wesa (M&A); Bruce Sinclair and Kevin Zimka (tax); Michael Howcroft (labour & employment) and Jason Gudofsky and Lucian Vital (competition/antitrust).

Quadra FNX was represented in the US by Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP with a team that included Adam Givertz (M&A) and Lawrence Witdorchic (labour & employment). Robert Simon of Greenberg Traurig LLP (tax) and a team from Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP that included Michael Han, Paul Yde and Rich Snyder (competition/antitrust) also advised Quadra FNX in connection with the transaction.


Jeffrey P. Roy R. Ian Crosbie Raj Juneja George N. Addy Kevin Zimka Bruce R. Sinclair Michael Howcroft Scott Semer Lucian Vital Jason L. Gudofsky Jennifer Hansen Natasha A. vandenHoven Peter S. Hong Steven R. McKoen Gerald D. Shepherd Tracie Allan William M. Ainley Robin Upshall Susan Tomaine Mischa Zajtmann Andrew McLeod Peter J. O'Callaghan Adam M. Givertz


Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Gide Loyrette Nouel Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP Greenberg Traurig LLP Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP