Kinross Gold Acquires Bema Gold

Kinross Gold Corporation acquired Bema Gold Corporation on February 27, 2007. The business combination was effected under a statutory plan of arrangement of Bema pursuant to which the holders of Bema common shares received 0.441 of a Kinross common share plus $0.01 in cash in exchange for each Bema common share. The transaction is valued at approximately US$3.1 billion and creates a major gold producing company with a market capitalization of approximately US$7.9 billion.

Bema was represented by its vice-president administration, corporate secretary and general counsel, Roger Richer, and by Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team that included William Braithwaite, John Ciardullo, Ken Pogrin, Quentin Markin, Amanda Linett and Joanna Bliss (M&A); David Finkelstein and Susan Thomson (tax); Paul Collins and Debbie Salzberger (competition); Lorna Cuthbert (employment); Andrea Boctor (pensions) and Aaron Atcheson (environmental). In respect of Russian matters, Bema was represented by Macleod Dixon LLP with a team that included Glenn Faass, Aydin Jebrailov, Anton Elistratov and Maria Kadlets; and legal representation in the United States was provided by Randal Jones and Christopher Doerksen of Dorsey & Whitney LLP.

The Special Committee of Bema was represented by Alan Bell of Bennett Jones LLP.

Kinross was represented by its senior vice-president and chief legal officer, Geoff Gold, by Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP with a team that included Jeff Lloyd, Leslie Johnson, Christopher Jones, Eric Moncik, Sheldon Vanderkooy and Michelle Audet (M&A); Ron Richler and Leslie Morgan (tax); Brian Facey and Julie Soloway (competition) and Mike Harquail (banking), and by Patrick Marley (tax) at Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. In respect of Russian matters, Kinross was represented by Chadbourne & Parke LLP with a team that included Laura Brank, Svetlana Sineva and Konstantin Konstantinov; and legal representation in the United States was provided by Robert DeLaMater and Trevor Ogle of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP.


Jeffrey R. Lloyd Deborah Salzberger Sheldon Vanderkooy Andrea Boctor Amanda Linett David N. Finkelstein Brian A. Facey Christopher H. Jones Leslie A. Johnson Aaron E. Atcheson Alan Bell Lorna A. Cuthbert Joanna Bliss Ronald M. Richler Susan J. Thomson John J. Ciardullo Julie A. Soloway Patrick W. Marley Michelle Audet-Noorani Ken Pogrin William J. Braithwaite Paul Collins Eric Moncik


Stikeman Elliott LLP Norton Rose Fulbright LLP Dorsey & Whitney LLP Bennett Jones LLP Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP Chadbourne & Parke LLP Behiel Will & Biemans