K+S AG Acquires Morton Salt for US$1.675B

On October 1, 2009, Germany-based K+S AG completed its acquisition of Morton International, Inc. (Morton Salt), one of the leading producers of consumer, industrial and de-icing salt in North America, for US$1.675 billion from Rohm and Haas Company, a subsidiary of The Dow Chemical Company.

K+S AG's legal team was led in-house by Andreas Goebel, head of legal, insurance and compliance, and Albert Kipp, internal counsel, and by the following:

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP with a team in New York that included Matthew Herman, Julian Pritchard, Andrea Cunning, Jeff Gillie, Simon Little, Christian Matarese, Raquel McKenney, Tony Salerno and Gregor von Bonin (corporate); Robert Scarborough (tax); and Lisa O'Brien, Melissa Raciti-Knapp, Sabine Dittrich and Tim Fourteau (finance); in Düsseldorf, Wolfram Rhein and Sören Ludwig; in Washington, Paul Yde, Bruce McCulloch, Andrea Agathoklis, Karine Faden, Daniel Fletcher (anti-trust) and Steven Brinker (tax); and in Frankfurt, Yorck Jetter and Sabine Dittrich (finance);

Harter Secrest & Emery LLP with a team in Rochester, NY, that included Paul Sylvestri (environmental); Paul Holloway (employee benefits); Christopher Potash (executive compensation); Brian Shaw (intellectual property); David Kresock (labour and employment) and Cathy Kaman Ryan (real estate);

Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team in New York that included Ron Ferguson, Gordon Cameron, Marc-André Wolfe (corporate); in Montréal, Robert Notkin (corporate); Marie-Andrée Beaudry and Jean-Guillaume Shooner (tax); Valérie Mac-Seing and Sébastien Thomas (real estate); in Toronto, Dana Porter, Andrew Elliott and Andy Gibbons (real estate); and in Calgary, Mark Christensen (real estate); and

Torys LLP with a team in Toronto that included Patricia Koval, Michael Akkawi, Vanessa Kee and Matthew Atkey (corporate); R. Jay Holsten, Omar Wakil and Sue-Anne Fox (anti-trust); Mitch Frazer, Christina Medland, Tara Sastri and Stacey Parker-Yull (pensions and employment); Dennis Mahony, Michael Fortier and Tyson Dyck (environmental) and Jason Gilman (intellectual property).

The Dow Chemical Company's legal team was led in-house by Charles Kalil, general counsel, Kenneth Isley, assistant general counsel, Lee Sjoberg, senior attorney, and Scott Pennock, managing counsel – anti-trust; at Morton Salt, Mary Doohan, vice president –legal affairs and group counsel, and by the following:

Shearman & Sterling LLP with a team in New York that included George Casey and Daniel Litowitz (M&A); Doreen Lilienfeld (executive compensation and employee benefits) and Douglas McFadyen (tax); and

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP with a team in Washington that included George S. Cary, Jeremy Calsyn, Matthew Bachrack, Thomas McConnell, Joshua Stern, and James Abell (anti-trust).


Sue-Anne Fox Matthew Atkey Sébastien Thomas Marie-Andrée Beaudry George S. Cary Mark Christensen Robert Notkin Tara Sastri Patricia A. Koval Vanessa A. Kee Ron Ferguson Valérie Mac-Seing Jean-Guillaume Shooner Jason Gilman Mitch Frazer Stacey Parker-Yull R. Jay Holsten Gordon N. Cameron Omar K. Wakil Daniel Litowitz Christina H. Medland Tyson W. Dyck Michael F.E. Akkawi Michael J. Fortier Dennis E. Mahony Dana Porter Andy Gibbons Andrew Elliott


Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP Harter, Secrest & Emery LLP Stikeman Elliott LLP Torys LLP Shearman & Sterling LLP Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton