Luminex Aquires Tm Bioscience Shares

On March 1, 2007, Luminex Corporation and Tm Bioscience Corporation announced the closing of the acquisition by Luminex of all the outstanding common shares of Tm Bioscience in exchange for shares of Luminex common stock. In addition, as a result of the acquisition, all outstanding options, warrants and convertible securities of Tm Bioscience will in future become exercisable or convertible into shares of Luminex common stock. As a result of the completion of the transaction, Tm shareholders will own approximately 9 per cent of Luminex outstanding common stock.

Luminex develops, manufactures and markets proprietary biological testing technologies with applications throughout the life sciences industry. Tm Bioscience is a leader in the commercial genetic testing market.

Luminex Corporation was represented internally by David Reiter, vice-president, general counsel and by United States external counsel Bass, Berry & Sims PLC, with a team that included Howard Lamar III, Derek Hughey, Kevin Ball and Stephen Hinton (M&A) and Ryan Thomas (tax). Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP acted as Canadian counsel to Luminex Corporation with a team that included Eric Elvidge, Randy Proulx, Ryan Atkinson and Heather Baker (corporate); Caroline Helbronner and Valerie Arthur (pension and benefits); Gord Cameron (court approvals); Andrea York and Ryan Flewelling (employment and labour); and Ken Snider and Elizabeth Boyd (tax). Leerink Swann & Company and Westwind Partners Inc. acted as financial advisors to Tm Bioscience Corporation. J.P. Morgan Securities Inc. acted as financial advisors to Luminex Corporation.
Stikeman Elliott LLP acted for Tm Bioscience Corporation with a team that included Curtis Cusinato, Ken Pogrin, Mairi MacGillivray and Tim McCormick (corporate); David Muha (tax) and Nancy Ramalho (employment and labour).


Ryan Atkinson Valerie L. Arthur Mairi MacGillivray Gordon B. Carmichael Andrea York David C. Muha Elizabeth Boyd Nancy Ramalho Curtis Cusinato Gordon K. Cameron Heather Baker Goudreau Randy Proulx Kenneth J. Snider Timothy McCormick Ryan Flewelling Ken Pogrin Caroline Helbronner