Mattel Inc. acquires MEGA Brands Inc.

Mattel Inc., through a wholly-owned subsidiary, completed the acquisition of MEGA Brands Inc. in a transaction representing a total enterprise value of approximately US$460 million including the net debt of MEGA Brands to be assumed or repaid by Mattel.

Robert Normile and Tiffani Magri led the transaction on behalf of Mattel and Mark Girgis led the transaction on behalf of MEGA Brands.

Latham & Watkins LLP acted as legal advisor to Mattel with a team led by James Beaubien and included Jordan Miller and Michael Montgomery (M&A); David Taub and Alice Chung (compensation and benefits); Karen Silverman and Amanda Reeves (antitrust and competition), and Nick DeNovio and Tali Weiss (tax).

McCarthy Tétrault LLP acted as Canadian legal advisor to Mattel with a team led by David Woollcombe that included Jean Charest, Max Rogan, Deandre Schubert, Krista Lawson, Ryan Hornby and Mark McEwan (M&A); Francois Giroux (litigation), Gabrielle Richards and Elaine Buzzell (tax); Mathieu Dubord and Marjolaine Hémond Hotte (financial services); Charles Morgan and Véronique Wattiez Larose (technology); Oliver Borgers (competition), John Boscariol (international trade), Rachel Solyom (employment and labour), and Cindy Vaillancourt and Dominique Amyot-Bilodeau (environmental).

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP acted as legal advisor to MEGA Brands with a team including Shahir Guindi, Christopher Main, Chima Ubani, Raphaël Amram and Fady Hammal (corporate and securities); Etienne Massicotte (financial services), Mark Brender, Antoine Stébenne and Marc Richardson-Arnould (tax); Peter Franklyn (competition), Sven Poysa, Julien Ranger and Sandra Cohen (labour law and pension and benefits), and Donna White (intellectual property) and Dan Kirby (environment).

Shearman & Sterling LLP acted as legal advisor to MEGA Brands on US regulatory matters with a team including of Beau Buffier and Kelly Karapetyan.


Mathieu Dubord Donna G. White Shahir Guindi Sandra Cohen Charles S. Morgan Antoine Stébenne Etienne Massicotte Julien Ranger Chima Ubani Peter H.G. Franklyn Mark D. Brender Dominique Amyot-Bilodeau Cindy Vaillancourt Jean Charest Elaine Buzzell Marjolaine Hémond Hotte Max T. Rogan Christopher Main Véronique Wattiez Larose Sven Poysa Rachel Solyom François M. Giroux Raphaël Amram Oliver J. Borgers Ryan Hornby John W. Boscariol David E. Woollcombe


Latham & Watkins LLP McCarthy Tétrault LLP Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP Shearman & Sterling LLP