Movie Distribution Income Fund Completes Sale of its 49% Interest in Motion Picture Distribution

On August 15, 2007, the sale of Movie Distribution Income Fund's 49 per cent indirect interest in Motion Picture Distribution LP was completed, for aggregate proceeds totalling approximately $200 million. The purchaser was an acquisition company controlled by EdgeStone Capital Partners in which GS Capital Partners, an affiliate of Goldman, Sachs & Co., had an equity interest. Motion Picture Distribution LP is a leading distributor of motion pictures in Canada, with motion picture distribution operations in the United Kingdom and Spain.

GS Capital Partners was represented by McCarthy T├ętrault LLP with a team led by Gary Girvan and included Frank DeLuca, Rob Hansen, Amrit Sidhu and George Maziotis (business law), Doug Cannon, Gwen Watson and Ron Choudhury (tax), Oliver Borges and Jeanne Pratt (competition and regulatory) and Harry Underwood and Lisa Constantine (litigation). Edgestone Capital Partners was represented by Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP. The Davies team was led by Gerold Goldlist and included Brett Seifred and Philippe Rousseau (corporate), Ian Crosbie and Raj Juneja (tax) and George Addy and Richard Elliott (regulatory).

The Trustees of Movie Distribution Income Fund were represented by Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team led by Jeffery Singer that included David Weinberger, Michael Burkett and Adam Kline (corporate) and Alan D'Silva and Adrian Lang (litigation).

Alliance Atlantis's (the then 51 per cent owner of Motion Picture Distribution LP) legal team included in-house counsel Andrea Wood, executive vice-president & general counsel, Peter Walker, vice-president, corporate legal, and Lisa Mendelson, corporate counsel, and was advised by a team from Bennett Jones LLP that included Gary Solway and Robert Fabes (corporate), Bernard Morris (tax), Robert Staley, Richard Swan and Lisa Millman (litigation), Deron Waldock (employment) and Arthur Peltomaa (research).


Lisa Malloy George Maziotis Adrian C. Lang Adam J. Kline Lisa M. Constantine Jeffrey Singer Harry C.G. Underwood Philippe C. Rousseau Gary S.A. Solway Richard B. Swan Michael Burkett Brett Seifred Gwendolyn G. Watson Ron Choudhury Jeanne L. Pratt Robert W. Staley A. Gerold Goldlist Bernard Morris Robert M. Fabes Arthur J. Peltomaa Raj Juneja George N. Addy David Weinberger Robert O. Hansen Alan L.W. D'Silva Richard D. Elliott R. Ian Crosbie Amrit Sidhu Garth (Gary) M. Girvan Deron P. Waldock Oliver J. Borgers


McCarthy Tétrault LLP Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Stikeman Elliott LLP Bennett Jones LLP