Ottawa Light Rail System Achieves Commercial and Financial Close

The City of Ottawa, with its co-sponsor Infrastructure Ontario, and the Rideau Transit Group Partnership, of which SNC-Lavalin, ACS Infrastructure and EllisDon are partners, achieved commercial and financial close to design, build, finance and maintain the Confederation Line, the City of Ottawa's first light rail transit system.

The estimated $2.1 billion Confederation Line is the biggest capital undertaking in the City of Ottawa's history. The project involves the construction of a 12.5 km guideway, 10 above-ground stations, three underground stations and a 2.5 km tunnel beneath the downtown core, as well as the widening of Highway 417, the supply of light rail transit vehicles, and the construction of a maintenance and storage facility.

Alstom finalized agreements with members of the Rideau Transit Group consortium to supply 34 light rail vehicles and provide 30 years of maintenance services for the first line of the light rail transit system; their portion of the project is worth approximately $540 million. This landmark development is expected to provide significant economic and envi-ronmental benefits to the nation's capital.

The project financing was provided by National Bank of Canada, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation, The Bank of Nova Scotia and The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd., as short term lenders, and National Bank Financial Inc. and Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada, as underwriters in respect of the long term facility.

The Rideau Transit Group Partnership was represented by Davis LLP with a team that was co-led by Andrew Burton and Ian Bendell, and included Mitch Mostyn, Elizabeth Mayer, Eric Belli-Bivar, Ali Owaisi, Lindsay Krauss, and Jonathan Gilhen.

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP acted as counsel to the City of Ottawa with a team that included Morty Gross, Kasim Salim, Heather Douglas, Sharon Vogel, Daniel Boan, Gus Karantzoulis, Andrew Smith, Xue Yan, Noella Milne, Paul Taylor, Nina Aggarwal, Robert Shouldice, Doug Sanders, Doug Copland, Emma Blanchard, Gerry Stobo and Vincent DeRose, Marc Jolicoeur, Rocco D'Angelo, Jamison Young, Sybil Johnson-Abbott, Katherine Levitt, Janet Bradley, Ste-phen Waqué, Rick Coburn, Pitman Patterson, Morton Mitchnick and Mathieu Socqué.

Infrastructure Ontario's legal team was led in-house by Eric Tilley, Simon Finlayson and Agnes von dem Hagen.

Torys LLP were counsel to the lenders with a team that included Mark Bain, Scott Kraag, Tara Mackay, Simon Wil-liams, Sabrina Kumar and Graeme Murray.

Alstom was represented by Isabelle Melody, its Vice President Legal and Contract Management North America, and Stikeman Elliott LLP with a legal team that included William Rosenberg, Howard Rosenoff, Kenton Rein, Dana Borshy, Allison Jaskolka, Stephen Hamilton and Eric Lévesque.


Simon J.C. Williams Stephen F. Waqué Andrew J.G. Burton J. Pitman Patterson Heather R. Douglas Tara A. Mackay Jamison Young Vincent J. DeRose Sabrina Kumar Mitchell Mostyn Elizabeth Mayer Sharon C. Vogel F.F. (Rick) Coburn Andrew J. Smith Howard Rosenoff Dana Borshy Stephen W. Hamilton Janet E. Bradley Marc M. Jolicoeur Sybil Johnson-Abbott Xue Yan Ali Owaisi Gus Karantzoulis Kenton G.C. Rein Eric C. Belli-Bivar Mark W.S. Bain Scott Kraag Morton G. Gross Ian Bendell Jonathan Gilhen William B. Rosenberg Morton G. Mitchnick Kasim Salim Daniel A. Boan Noella M. Milne Rocco D'Angelo