Pretium Resources Completes IPO, Acquisition of Two Gold Projects From Silver Standard Resources

On December 21, 2010, Pretium Resources Inc. completed its purchase of the Snowfield and Brucejack gold projects in northern British Columbia (one of the largest undeveloped gold resources in North America) from Silver Standard Resources, Inc. for total consideration of $450 million, paid by a combination of cash and common shares of Pretium. In conjunction with the acquisition, Pretium also completed its initial public offering and listing of its common shares on the TSX, at a price of $6 per share for gross proceeds of $265 million. The underwriting syndicate was led by CIBC World Markets Inc., Citigroup Global Markets Canada Inc. and UBS Securities Canada Inc. and included BMO Capital Markets, Credit Suisse Securities (Canada), Inc., Dahlman Rose & Company, LLC, GMP Securities L.P. and Salman Partners Inc.

Pretium was represented by a Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP team that included Josh Lewis, Johanna Fipke, Stephanie Sanger and Bruce Harrison (mining); Georald Ingborg, Amanda MacAdams, Caroline Clapham and Barinder Sidhu (securities) and Frank Schober and Ronald Nobrega (tax). Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP acted as US counsel to Pretium with a team that included Edwin Maynard and Leah Fleck (securities).

Silver Standard was represented in house by Kristen Riddell, Vice President, General Counsel and Guy Davis, Corporate Counsel and by a Lawson Lundell LLP team that included Jerrold Schramm, Stephen Cooper and David Gedge (corporate and securities); Khaled Abdel-Barr (mining and corporate) and Leonard Glass (tax).

The syndicate of underwriters was represented by a Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP team that included Bob Wooder, Teresa Budd, Trisha Robertson and Denis Silva (securities). Mayer Brown LLP acted as US counsel to the underwriters, with a team led by Edward Best.


Georald Ingborg Denis Silva Kristen G. Riddell Leonard A. Glass Edwin S. Maynard Josh Lewis Johanna Fipke David R. Gedge Amanda Robinson Bruce Harrison Frank S. Schober Ronald E. Nobrega Caroline E. Clapham Trisha L. Robertson Khaled S. Abdel-Barr Bob J. Wooder Teresa P. Budd Edward S. Best Stephen M. Cooper Stephanie Sanger Jerrold W. Schramm


Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP Lawson Lundell LLP Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Mayer Brown LLP