Province of Alberta completes $1B first re-opening bond offering

On August 11, 2016, the Province of Alberta completed a first re-opening of the offering of series DM 2.20 per cent bonds due June 1, 2026, initially completed June 17, 2016, for an additional principal amount of $1 billion.

The first re-opening of the offering was completed by a syndicate of underwriters led by RBC Dominion Securities Inc., CIBC World Markets Inc., The Toronto-Dominion Bank, BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc., National Bank Financial Inc., and Scotia Capital Inc., and including, Desjardins Securities Inc., Casgrain & Company Limited, Merrill Lynch Canada Inc., Laurentian Bank Securities Inc., HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc. and Canaccord Genuity Group Inc.

The Province of Alberta was represented by Michael Gluckman and Christopher Ontkean of Alberta Justice.

The underwriters were represented by Jon Truswell and Jordan Primeau of Bennett Jones LLP.