Rogers Media Acquires Citytv stations from CTVglobemedia for $375 million

On October 31, 2007, Rogers Media completed the acquisition of five Citytv conventional television stations from CTVglobemedia Inc. In accordance with the CRTC requirements relating to CTVglobemedia's acquisition of CHUM Limited (now CTV Limited) earlier this year, at the time of the sale, the stations were under the control of Mr. John D. McKellar, CM, QC, trustee under a Voting Trust Agreement. The Citytv network includes stations in Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver. The purchase price was in excess of $375 million.

Rogers Media was advised by Michael Webber (vice president, legal) and by Carl De Vuono and J. R. Beaudrie (corporate), Peter Giddens (intellectual property) and John Payne (real estate) of Lang Michener LLP.

CTVglobemedia was advised in this transaction by an in-house team led by André Serero (executive vice president, business and legal affairs) and Kevin Assaff (senior vice president, business and legal affairs) and by Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP by a team led by Roxanne McCormick (corporate/securities and M&A) and including, among others, Sean Stevens and Karoline Kralka (corporate/securities and M&A), Dan Law and Dugan Edmison (real estate) and Doug New and Huy Do (competition).

The trustee was represented by John Pandell and Laila Perruzza of WeirFoulds LLP.


Dugan R. Edmison Stewart G. Baker John C. Payne Sean S. Stevens Daniel R. Law Carl A. De Vuono Roxanne E. McCormick Douglas C. New André Serero Peter Giddens J.R. Beaudrie Karoline A. Hunter Kevin A. Assaff John L. Pandell Laila N. Perruzza Michael J. Webber