Royal Bank Completes $300M Offering of Preferred Shares

On January 31, 2005, Royal Bank of Canada completed the public offering of $300 million of non-cumulative first preferred shares, series W. The series W preferred shares, which may be redeemed or converted in certain circumstances, were issued for $25 per share, pay a quarterly dividend at the rate of $0.30625 per share and trade of the Toronto Stock Exchange.

The offering was led by RBC Capital Markets with an underwriting syndicate that included Scotia Capital Inc., TD Securities Inc., BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc., CIBC World Markets Inc., National Bank Financial Inc., Desjardins Securities Inc., HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc., Laurentian Bank Securities Inc and Trilon Securities Corp.

Royal Bank was represented in house by Drew Allen, and by Dawn Whittaker and Yana Ermak of Ogilvy Renault LLP.

The underwriters were represented by Mihkel Voore and Maurice Swan of Stikeman Elliott LLP.