Scotiabank Issues $230 Million of Preferred Shares Series 17

On January 31, 2008, The Bank of Nova Scotia completed the issue of its seventeenth series of Preferred Shares by issuing $230,000,000 of non-cumulative Preferred Shares yielding 5.60 per cent. The Preferred Shares were placed by a syndicate of underwriters led by Scotia Capital Inc. and included RBC Dominion Securities Inc., BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc., CIBC World Markets Inc., TD Securities Inc., National Bank Financial Inc., Desjardins Securities Inc., HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc., Dundee Securities Corporation, Laurentian Bank Securities Inc. and Brookfield Financial Corp.

McCarthy T├ętrault LLP acted for the Bank under the direction of Executive Vice President and General Counsel Deborah Alexander and Senior Legal Counsel Catherine Waugh, with a team consisting of Barry Ryan and Tara Rosenblatt (business Law) and Gabrielle Richards (tax).
The syndicate of underwriters was represented by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP with a team consisting of Steven Smith, Kashif Zaman and Rachel Halperin (corporate) and Andrew McGuffin (tax).


Steven W. Smith Kashif Zaman Deborah M. Alexander Andrew S. McGuffin Gabrielle M.R. Richards Tara R. Rosenblatt