WorleyParsons Acquires The Colt Companies

On March 9, 2007, WorleyParsons Limited, a leading international provider of professional services to the energy, resource and complex process industries, acquired The Colt Companies for $1.035 billion in cash and exchangeable shares of a Canadian subsidiary of WorleyParsons. Colt is a leading project services firm to the Canadian and Alaskan hydrocarbons industries and a leader in project delivery for the heavy oil and oil sands industries.

WorleyParsons was represented in-house by Lawrence Kalban, senior vice-president and general counsel. Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP acted as Canadian counsel to WorleyParsons with a team comprised of Steven Smith, Chad Bayne, Troy Krushel, Andrew Peel, Rummy Basra, Erin Lee and Evan Low (corporate/M&A), Peter Glossop and Geoff MacDonald (competition), Andraya Frith and Trung Lam (intellectual property), Damian Rigolo (employment), Greg Wylie (tax) and Dale Seymour (financial services). Freehills acted as Australian counsel to WorleyParsons with a team comprised of Philippa Stone, Tony Sparks, Faith Sing, Antony Rumboll and Justin Edenberg (corporate/M&A) and David Morgan (banking). PricewaterhouseCoopers, with a team comprised of Ewald Kacnik, Norah Seddon and Sarah Saville, advised WorleyParsons on Canadian and Australian tax matters.

Colt was represented in-house by Frank Morison, general counsel. Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP acted as Canadian counsel to Colt with a team comprised of Pat Finnerty, Ross Bentley, Cam Proctor, Jacquie Moore, Rory Engels and Stefan McConnell (corporate/M&A), Nick Tropak (financial services), Brian Thiessen (employment), Monica Sharma and Chris Hale (intellectual property) and Brian Facey, Rob Kwinter and Julie Soloway (competition). Clayton Utz acted as Australian counsel to Colt with a team comprised of David Landy and Simon Truskett (corporate/M&A). Felesky Flynn LLP, with a team comprised of Brent Perry and Anthony Strawson, advised Colt on Canadian tax matters.


Damian J. Rigolo Trung Lam Ross Bentley Steven W. Smith Andrew L. Peel Cameron Proctor Brian A. Facey Dale Seymour Jacqueline S. Moore Pat C. Finnerty Christopher C. Hale Geoffrey Macdonald Erin Lee Wheaton Brian J. Thiessen Stefan McConnell Peter L. Glossop Rummy K. Basra Andraya C. Frith Robert E. Kwinter Julie A. Soloway Troy Krushel Rory Engels Monica Sharma Gregory R. Wylie Chad Bayne F. Brent Perry Nick Tropak Evan D. Low Anthony V. Strawson