Amcor Completes Acquisition of Alcan Packaging

On February 1, 2010, Australia-based Amcor Limited acquired the Alcan Packaging operations of Rio Tinto plc in 31 countries for a price of approximately US$2 billion. The acquired businesses include: Alcan Packaging Global Pharmaceuticals, Alcan Packaging Food Europe, Alcan Packaging Food Asia and Alcan Packaging Global Tobacco. As a consequence of the acquisition, Amcor is one of the world's leading packaging companies with significant breadth of expertise, products and services.

Amcor was represented by the Montréal, New York and Toronto offices of Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP with a team that included, in Montréal: Peter Mendell, Rita de Santis, David Torralbo, Diana Lyrintzis, Christopher Karambatsos, Annie Beaudoin, Elliot Greenstone, Alain Murad, Dan Wolfensohn, Janet Ferrier, Stefan Fews and Benoit Archambault; in New York: Steven Levin, Candice Turner, Gerald Shepherd, Scott Tayne, Harry Heching and Darren Novak; and in Toronto: Mark Katz, Alex Pike, Natasha vandenHoven, Sarah Powell and Anita Banicevic. Amcor was represented on US antitrust matters by Hogan & Hartson LLP with a team that included Janet McDavid, Joseph Krauss, Logan Breed and Michaelynn Ware.

Co-lead counsel to Amcor was SJ Berwin LLP with a team that included Richard Lever, Simon Hawkins, Veronica Ridley, James Darbyshire, Charles Case, Michael Miranda, Antonia Pegg, Simon Holmes, Russell Hoare, Gordon Christian, Sheldon Mills, Wyn Derbyshire, David Wilman, Franko Surjan, Carl Richards, Angus Evers, Gareth Amdor, Stephen Pevsner, Andrew Shindler, Emma Van Haaster, Greg France, Vanessa Therrode, Katy Kingston, Tyson Neil, Matthew Crossland, Nicola Bridge and Louise Freeman.

Rio Tinto plc was represented by Sullivan & Cromwell LLP with a team that included Timothy Emmerson, Nikolaos Andronikos, Steven Holley, Phillip Norah and Edward Watson and by a team of in-house counsel that included Mayia Le Texier, Henri-Frédéric Hibon, Warren Goodman, Marie-Christine Dupont, Armelle Moussu-Lachuer, Jarl Hjärre and Andreas Guth. In Brussels, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP represented Rio Tinto in dealing with the European Commission with a team that included Andrew Renshaw, Gavin Bushell and Mathew O'Regan. 


Stefan Fews Gerald D. Shepherd Janet Ferrier Natasha A. vandenHoven Alain Murad Rita Lc de Santis Mark C. Katz Sarah V. Powell Benoit Archambault Harry G. Heching Janet L. McDavid Chris Karambatsos Andrew Renshaw Peter Mendell Candice Turner Elliot A. Greenstone David Torralbo Anita Banicevic Alexandria (Alex) Pike Dan Wolfensohn Annie Beaudoin Scott Tayne Diana R. Lyrintzis Steven H. Levin


Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer