Kinross Merges with TVX and Echo Bay

Toronto-based Kinross Gold Corporation merged with TVX Gold Inc. and Echo Bay Mines Ltd. on January 31, 2003. The merger was accomplished through a court ordered plan of arrangement. In connection with the merger, Kinross also acquired the remaining 49.9 per cent interest in the TVX Newmont Americas joint venture from Newmont Mining Corporation for US$180 million. As a result of the merger and acquisition, Kinross is now the seventh-largest primary gold producer in the world, and has a market capitalization in excess of $3 billion.

In Canada, Kinross was represented by Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP with a team that included Cameron Mingay, Jeffrey Roy, André Boivin, Lori Prokopich and Howard Burshtein (securities/corporate), Christopher Norton (tax) and Frank Monteleone and Carol Anne O’Brien (competition). Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP acted as special counsel to Kinross, with a team that included David Jackson, Sheila Murray, Geoff Belsher, Anoop Dogra, Robyn Keinick, James Clarke, Neil Kothari and Pascal Ouimet (securities/corporate), Paul Tamaki (tax) and Jeff Galway and Robert Brent (litigation). In the U.S., Chadbourne & Parke LLP represented Kinross, with a team that included Philip Colbran, Laura Brank, Anne-Marie Shelley, Damien Atkins and Sheila Peluso (securities/corporate), Barry Dinaburg and David Danon (tax) and Daniel O’Neill and Marta Pulasky-Kelly (competition).

In Canada, TVX was represented by Cassels Brock & Blackwell with a team that included Mark Bennett, Cathy Mercer and Andrea FitzGerald (securities/corporate). Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP acted for the special committee of the board of directors of TVX and as special counsel to TVX, with a team that included Jonathan Levin and Janne Duncan (securities/corporate), Anthony Baldanza (competition), William Bies and Kathleen Hanly (tax) and Peter Roy and Kathryn Knight (litigation). In the U.S., TVX was represented by Stoel Rives LLP in Portland, Oregon, with a team that included Carolyn Vogt and Kyle Wuepper (securities/corporate), Andrew Zuccotti and Geir Jonsson (tax) and Ellen Theodorson (competition).

In Canada, Echo Bay was represented by Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP with a team that included David Lefebvre, Craig Story, Michael Gluckman, Colleen Cebuliak and Dana Bissoondatt (corporate/securities), Brian Carr and Peter Baek (tax) and Barry Zalmanowitz, Q.C.(competition), and in the U.S., by Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP with a team comprised of Richard Hall, Matthew Shapiro and Elizabeth Morgan (securities/corporate), Patricia Geoghegan and Michael O’Brien (benefits) and Lewis Steinberg and Craig Lee (tax).

Newmont was represented by in-house counsel Sharon Dowdall, and by Stikeman Elliott LLP with a team that included Jay Kellerman, Robert Nicholls, Karen Jackson and Lynn Gluckman (securities/corporate) and Shawn Neylan (competition).


David R.J. Lefebvre Andrew H. Zuccotti Lori A. Prokopich Jeffrey P. Roy Cathy L. Mercer Pascal A. Ouimet William J. Bies Geoffrey S. Belsher Shawn C.D. Neylan Jay C. Kellerman Janne M. Duncan James D. Clarke Jon Levin Michael E. O'Brien Anthony F. Baldanza Howard J. Burshtein Kathryn L. Knight Carolyn M. Vogt Anoop Dogra Philip L. Colbran Kathleen S.M. Hanly Jeff W. Galway Karen E. Jackson Damien Atkins Marta Pulsaky-Kelly Peter H. Baek Barry Zalmanowitz André Boivin Nilesh (Neil) Kothari Sheila A. Murray Paul K. Tamaki Christopher B. Norton Daniel J. O'Neill Craig A. Story Mark T. Bennett Kyle D. Wuepper Cameron A. Mingay Colleen M. Cebuliak Richard Hall Brian R. Carr Andrea FitzGerald Laura M. Brank Peter L. Roy Lewis R. Steinberg Dana M. Bissoondatt Michael Gluckman Lynn Gluckman Carol Anne O'Brien Robert H. Brent