MEG Energy Closes $700M IPO

On August 6, 2010, MEG Energy Corp. (“MEG”) closed its initial public offering of 20,000,000 common shares at a price of $35 per share for gross proceeds of $700 million.

MEG is focused on sustainable in situ oil sands development and production in the southern Athabasca region of Alberta.

The underwriting syndicate was led by Credit Suisse Securities (Canada), Inc., BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc., Barclays Capital Canada Inc. and Morgan Stanley Canada Limited, and co-managed by TD Securities Inc., Goldman Sachs Canada Inc., Scotia Capital Inc., FirstEnergy Capital Corp. and Peters & Co. Limited.

MEG was represented internally by a team that included Ted Semadeni, Shannon Glover, David Mercier and Cheryl Mantik. MEG was also represented by Bennett Jones LLP with a team that included Mark Powell, Brent Kraus, Paul Farion, Douglas Foster, Timothy Robson, Harinder Basra, Joel Gaucher, Matthew Olson, Sandra Malcolm and Andrew Broughton (corporate and securities); Christopher Skelton (banking); Patrick Maguire, Kristen Read and Duncan McPherson (energy); John Batzel (employment) and Greg Johnson and Wesley Novotny (tax); and in the United States by Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP with a team that included Andrew Foley, Reece Hunt and Melissa Mao (corporate and securities); William O'Brien (environmental) and David Mayo and Patrick Karsnitz (tax).

The underwriters were represented by Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP with a team that included Pat Finnerty, Dan McLeod, Chris Hewat, Ross McKee, Sarah Gingrich, Jana Prete, Alison Desipio, Delaine Dew, Julia Hughes, Richard Maclean, Taryn Petrovich, Chris Salamon and Michael Smith (corporate and securities); Brian Thiessen, Melanie Cooke and Dorothy Foster (employment); Duff Harper (environmental and regulatory) and Kurtis Bond (tax); and in the United States by Shearman & Sterling LLP with a team that included Christopher Cummings, Adam Givertz, Kevin Roggow and Sonja Sun in Toronto and Laurence Crouch and Eileen O'Pray in California.


Kristen L. Read Dufferin R. Harper Shannon Glover Wesley R. Novotny Sandra L. Malcolm Drew C. Broughton William J. O'Brien Christopher J. Cummings Pat C. Finnerty Brian J. Thiessen Laurence E. Crouch Mark S. Powell Kurtis L. Bond Christopher A. Hewat Duncan M. McPherson Brent W. Kraus Adam M. Givertz Melanie Cooke Gregory M. Johnson Timothy J. Robson Eileen M. O'Pray Taryn Petrovich J. Douglas Foster Andrew J. Foley John C. Batzel Michael Smith Daniel John McLeod Jana Prete E.A. (Ted) Semadeni Dorothy McDaid Paul M. Farion Ross McKee Sarah A. Gingrich David J. Mercier Julia Hughes Stadnyk Christopher R. Skelton Harinder Basra Patrick T. Maguire Joel S. Gaucher


Bennett Jones LLP Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Shearman & Sterling LLP