Mobilinx Hurontario General Partnership as a successful proponent for the $4.6 billion Hurontario LRT project

On Oct. 21, 2019, Mobilinx Hurontario General Partnership entered into an agreement with Infrastructure Ontario and Metrolinx to design, build, finance, operate and maintain the new Hurontario light rail transit (LRT) project in the Toronto region. The contract is worth approximately $4.6 billion, to be paid over its greater than 30-year term. Mobilinx is an integrated consortium of local and global firms that specialize in the delivery of infrastructure projects. The consortium is comprised of Astaldi Canada Enterprises Inc., Transdev North America Inc., Amico Concessions Inc., John Laing Investments Limited, Ansaldo STS S.p.A., Hitachi Rail STS S.p.A., Salini Impregilo Canada Holding Inc., IBI Group Professional Services (Canada) Inc., Morrison Hershfield, National Bank and HSBC for the Project. 

Mobilinx estimates that approximately 800 jobs will be created at the peak of construction. Mobilinx anticipates completion of the LRT in Fall 2024. 

The Hurontario LRT is a new 18 km light rail transit line running along Hurontario Street from Port Credit GO station in Mississauga to the Brampton Gateway Terminal in southern Brampton and along Rathburn Road in Mississauga

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP acted for Mobilinx in connection with its winning bid for the Project with a team led by Tobor Emakpor (commercial) and Chris Bennett (financial services) and consisting of Danna Donald, Marissa Kirsh (commercial), Marta Rochkin, Jasmyn Lee (financial services) and Charlie Zilvytis (corporate).  

McCarthy Tétrault LLP acted as counsel to the grantor with a team led by Tristan Musgrave that included Godyne SibayGord Willcocks, Jim Janetos, Ian Mak, Awi Sinha, Julie Parla, Moya Graham, Brandon Kain, Byron Shaw, Joanna Rosengarten, Diego Beltran, James Kelsall, Chris Zawadzki, Judy Tian, Haiya Peng and Laura Alford. 

Torys LLP acted as counsel to the funder with a team led by Tara Mackay and consisting of Josh Van Deurzen, Simon Williams, Michael Jack and Marshall Rossiter.