Olympus Acquires R/D Tech

On May 31, 2005, Olympus Corp., through its wholly-owned subsidiary Olympus NDT Canada Inc., completed the acquisition of all the issued and outstanding shares of R/D Tech Inc., a manufacturer of non-destructive testing equipment with proprietary advanced technology in the areas of ultrasound defect detection and eddy current defect detection. R/D Tech is based in Quebec City and has various places of business worldwide. The purchase price paid Olympus was approximately $117 million.

Olympus was represented in Canada by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP with a team that included Warren Katz, John Leddy and André de Maurivez (corporate) and François Auger and Alain Fournier (tax). Olympus was represented in the US by a team from Davis Polk & Wardwell that included George Bason, Jr., Nicolas McKee and Tom Kozak (corporate), Harry Ballan, Joanna Mork and Wendy Charon Unglaub (tax), Ronan Harty and Stephen Pepper (antitrust), Kyoko Takahashi Lin (employment), Gail Flesher, Judy Melillo and Timothy Geller (environmental) and James McIntyre and Frank Weigand (real estate) in New York; Theodore Paradise and Chikara Momota (corporate) in Tokyo; and Douglas Cardwell (IP) in Menlo Park.

R/D Tech and its shareholders were represented in Canada by McCarthy Tétrault LLP with a team that included François Amyot and Philippe Boivin (IP, corporate), Mathieu Laflamme (corporate) and Jean-François Dolbec (labour); and in the US by Edward Young (corporate), Mark Kalpin (environment) and Janet Ridge (anti-trust) of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP. Martin-Olivier Boiteau of PricewaterhouseCoopers advised R/D Tech and its shareholders on tax matters. Fonds de solidarité des travailleurs du Québec (FTQ), one of the major shareholders of R/D Tech, was represented by Natacha Bernier, in-house counsel.


François Amyot Alain Fournier James P. McIntyre Ronan P. Harty George R. Bason, Jr. John Leddy Philippe Boivin Natacha Bernier Martin-Olivier Boiteau Ronald G. Paton François Auger Harry Ballan Timothy Geller Stephen M. Pepper Theodore A. Paradise Joanna Mörk Gail A. Flesher Edward Young Mathieu Laflamme Martin C. Gladstone Jean-François Dolbec André de Maurivez Mark Kaplin Kyoko Takahashi Lin


Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP Davis Polk & Wardwell McCarthy Tétrault LLP Vision Almet Limited