ONxpress, Metrolinx's commuter rail project development phase

On April 14, 2022, ONxpress Transportation Partners, comprised of multinational companies Aecon, Deutsche Bahn, ALSTOM and FCC, entered development phase on the On-Corridor Works project – the largest project in Metrolinx’s GO Rail Expansion program.

As agreed with Metrolinx and Infrastructure Ontario (IO), the complex rail project aims to deliver more frequent service, shorter journey times and a more modernized system for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton region through improving the core GO Transit lines – Lakeshore West, Kitchener, Barrie, Stouffville, and Lakeshore East lines.

ONxpress is responsible for designing, building, operating, and maintaining all GO Rail infrastructure and trains for 25 years. This includes all works that facilitate train service, such as track, civil infrastructure, signalling, electrification infrastructure and electric vehicles, as well as the operations and maintenance of the GO rail network.

Upon completion, the On-Corridor Works assets will remain publicly owned by the Province of Ontario and managed by Metrolinx as part of its GO Rail regional program.

McCarthy Tétrault LLP advised ONxpress Transportation Partners with a team led by Samantha Cunliffe and Morgan Troke and supported by Linda Brown, Liezl Behm, Fayyaz Karmali and Kean Silverthorn.

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP advised Infrastructure Ontario and Metrolinx, with a team consisting of Judy Wilson, Theresa Chan, Marianne Smith, Karishma Prasanna, Meaghan Parry, and Luiz Brasil.

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP, led by William Buchner, advised the civil contractor.

Eversheds Sutherland advised the O&M contractor, with a team consisting of Agnes Koko, William Spickett and Olivia Hawkswell.

McMillan LLP advised the O&M contractor with a team consisting of Julie Han, Ahsan Mirza, Brent Thomas, Christina Kim, Andrew Stirling (tax), Paul Boshyk (employment), and Dave McKechnie (immigration).

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP advised the vehicle supplier and the systems contractor with a team led by Douglas R. Sanders and Patrick Dolan.


Samantha Cunliffe Morgan A. Troke Linda G. Brown Liezl Behm Fayyaz Karmali Marianne Smith William Buchner Julie Han Ahsan Mirza Christina Kim Andrew Stirling Paul Boshyk Douglas R. Sanders Patrick Dolan


McCarthy Tétrault LLP Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP