Travelers acquires The Dominion of Canada General Insurance Company

The Travelers Companies, Inc. acquired The Dominion of Canada General Insurance Company from E-L Financial Corporation Limited for approximately $1.07 billion in cash, subject to certain post-closing adjustments. 

The Travelers team was led internally by its Chief Legal Officer and Vice-Chairman, Alan Schnitzer, and included in-house counsel Paul Eddy, Matthew Furman, Aaron Tehan and Daniel Tseng. Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP was US counsel to Travelers with a team led by Todd Freed and included, among others, Christopher Ulery, John Meckley and Rogan Nunn (corporate and M&A) and Jessica Hough (tax).

Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP was Canadian counsel to Travelers in this transaction with a team led by Filomena Frisina and that included, among others, Peter Koch, Benjamin Westelman, Alexander Lalka and David Kim (corporate/M&A and insurance regulatory); Ian Macdonald and Mark Nicholson (competition); Daniel Hayhurst (pensions), Steven Willard (real estate), Sharon Bennett, Ash Gupta and Michael Bussmann (tax); Edward Majewski and Michael Comartin (employment); Louis Frapporti, David Bishop, Philip Kennedy and Derrick Pagenkopf (litigation); Christopher Pibus and Natalie Rizkalla-Kamel (intellectual property); Mark Madras (environmental), Christopher Oates (privacy), Kathleen Ritchie (securities), Alan James (technology), Rachel Conway (financial services), David Tang (municipal) and Henry Brown (government affairs). Sean Conway served as Gowlings' public policy adviser.

Stikeman Elliott LLP was special counsel to Travelers with Lawson Hunter and Michael Kilby providing Investment Canada advice.

E-L Financial's team was led internally by Vice President and General Counsel, Richard Carty.

McCarthy Tétrault LLP was Canadian counsel to E-L Financial with a team led by Andrew Parker and that included Barry Ryan, David Randell and Jake Irwin.


Natalie Rizkalla-Kamel Henry S. Brown Andrew C. Parker Richard B. Carty David H. Kim David Randell Alan G. James Mark L. Madras Alexander W. Lalka Daniel R. Hayhurst Kathleen M. Ritchie Sean N. Conway Filomena Frisina Lawson A.W. Hunter Rachel C. Conway Peter M. Koch Philip J. Kennedy Mark J. Nicholson Edward Majewski David Tang Michael Bussmann Derrick S. Pagenkopf Louis A. Frapporti Christopher J. Pibus Ashutosh Gupta David C. Bishop Sharon A. Bennett Steven Willard Ben Westelman Michael Kilby Christopher Oates


Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP Gowling WLG Stikeman Elliott LLP McCarthy Tétrault LLP