Saskatchewan Hospital North Battleford Project reaches financial close

The Saskatchewan Hospital North Battleford Project reached financial close on August 27, 2015, when Access Prairies Partnership (APP) entered into a Project Agreement with the Province of Saskatchewan (Province) for an integrated mental health hospital and correctional facility.

The project, which has a development value of $407 million, is a design, build, finance and maintain P3 for a 188-bed mental health hospital and an adjoining 96-room correctional facility.

The project will replace the existing Saskatchewan Hospital North Battleford.

The Project Agreement requires APP to design, build and partially finance the facility as well as provide facilities maintenance services for a period of 30 years from service commencement.

Access Prairies Partnership’s team members include the following: Gracorp Capital Partners LP and Carillion Private Finance Limited, along with a joint venture formed by Graham Design Builders LP and Carillion Construction Inc., providing construction services, and AP Services Limited Partnership, an entity owned by Carillion Canada Inc. and Graham Design Builders LP, as service provider.

Approximately $180 million of bonds, underwritten by National Bank Financial and TD Securities, provided the debt financing for the project.

The Province, through their P3 agency SaskBuilds Corporation, was represented by Bull, Housser & Tupper LLP, with a team comprising Greg Lewis, Jay LeMoine, Matt Mulligan, Keith Bustard, Jenya Hammond and Alexander Baer.

APP was represented by Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP, with a team comprising Mark Johnson, Catherine Doyle, Jeff Merrick, Andrew Gordon, J.P. Bogden, Tim Andison, Joe Zed, David Mender, Matthew Mundy and Tamara Nachmani.

Graham was represented by Daniel Killick, legal counsel at Graham Group Ltd.

Carillion was represented by Christopher Buck, Associate General Counsel at Carillion Canada Inc.

The lenders were represented by Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP, with a team comprising Michael Allen, Maria McKenzie, David Selley, Thom Ciz and Susan Mossing.