Semtech Completes Acquisition of Gennum

Corporation (“Semtech”) completed the acquisition of all of the issued and outstanding common shares of Gennum Corporation (“Gennum”) pursuant to a statutory plan of arrangement under the Business Corporations Act (Ontario). Semtech Canada Inc., an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Semtech, acquired all of the common shares of Gennum for aggregate cash consideration of approximately $500 million, being $13.55 per common share.

The acquisition broadens Semtech's existing portfolio of high-speed communications platforms by adding Genum's data communications and video platforms.

Gennum's legal team was led by Chad Hutchison, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary. Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP represented Gennum in Canada with a team that included John Tuzyk, Shlomi Feiner, Cynthia Sargeant, Gordon McKenna and Kenneth Ng (securities); Bryan Bailey and Andrew Spiro (tax); Peter MacGowan (financial services); Seumas Woods and Ryan Morris (litigation); Julie Soloway and Kevin MacDonald (competition and foreign investment); Christine Ing (information technology); and Elizabeth Boyd (pension and benefits). Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP represented Gennum as to US matters with a team that included Christopher Morgan (corporate and securities); David Armstrong (energy and infrastructure projects) and Joseph Nisa (antitrust).

Semtech's legal team was led by Randall Holliday, Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, and included Jeffrey Gutierrez, Corporate Counsel -International Operations.Norton Rose Canada LLP represented Semtech with a team that included Terence Dobbin, Paul Fitzgerald, Evelyn Li and Bruce Sheiner (M&A); Adrienne Oliver and Ted Citrome (tax); Richard Borden (financial services); Christopher Hunter (IP); David Bannon (employment); Kevin Ackhurst (competition); Ned Steinman and Oliver Moore (real estate); and Marc Kestenberg (litigation). O'Melveny & Myers LLP represented Semtech in the US in connection with financing matters with a team that included David Johnson, Alexandra Redwine, Andrea Schutz and Su Lian Lu.


Julie A. Soloway Gordon McKenna Cynthia K. Sargeant Kenneth Ng Bryan Bailey John M. Tuzyk Bruce Sheiner Paul Fitzgerald David J. Bannon Marc S. Kestenberg Evelyn Li Christine Ing Ryan L. Morris Andrew Spiro Elizabeth Boyd Edward N. Citrome Shlomi Feiner Christopher J. Hunter Terence S. Dobbin Peter MacGowan D. Chad Hutchison Adrienne F. Oliver Kevin D. Ackhurst Richard P. Borden Ned A. Steinman


Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP O'Melveny & Myers LLP