Lexpert Ranked Law Firm
 
 
 

Torys LLP is an international business law firm that works with clients who expect the best advice and exceptional service. Torys’ dedication to excellence across practice areas and industries has resulted in an enviable record of experience in Canada and globally. Teamwork is one of the firm’s distinguishing features, reflected in all aspects of how the firm partners with clients and collaborates internally. Long-standing clients continue to retain Torys not only for its excellent service and legal expertise, but also because of a shared value for lasting partnerships based on trust and respect.

PRINCIPAL AREAS OF PRACTICE

Mergers and Acquisitions: (Contacts: John Emanoilidis, (416) 865-8145, jemanoilidis@torys.com; Cornell Wright, (416) 865-7651, cwright@torys.com) Torys’ M&A Practice is well known for its experience in sophisticated, complex and innovative M&A. They are involved in high-profile public and private M&A, as well as transactions for small and mid-sized companies. The firm is also known for delivering seamless cross-border M&A services across Canada and the US.

Capital Markets: (Contacts: Rima Ramchandani, (416) 865-7666, rramchandani@torys.com; David Seville, (416) 865-7821, dseville@torys.com; Mile Kurta, (212) 880-6363, mkurta@torys.com; Scott Cochlan, (403) 776-3784, scochlan@torys.com) The lawyers in Torys’ cross-border Capital Markets Practice have expertise as both lead transaction counsel and strategic advisers in both domestic and international capital markets in structuring and implementing sophisticated, innovative financing transactions and traditional financing deals. The firm’s practice is highly ranked globally, particularly for their lawyers’ expertise and exceptional bench strength.

Litigation and Dispute Resolution: (Contacts: Andrew Bernstein, (416) 865-7678, abernstein@torys.com; Luigi Cusano, (403) 776-3797, lcusano@torys.com; Sylvie Rodrigue, (514) 868-5601, srodrigue@torys.com; David Wawro, (212) 880-6288, dwawro@torys.com) Torys’ litigators have widely recognized expertise as counsel, appearing before all levels of courts and tribunals, before the Federal Court, the Supreme Court and courts across Canadian provinces. With extensive trial and appellate dispute resolution experience in the US and Canada, the firm’s litigation practice is equipped to take on complex disputes in both countries. The practice involves commercial disputes of all forms, including proxy fights, shareholder disputes, take-over bids, oppression claims, valuations, competition issues and restraint-of-trade claims. Torys also has special expertise in competition and antitrust disputes; class actions; constitutional and defamation matters; pension and employment issues; tax disputes; health law matters; professional liability matters; and intellectual property disputes.

Infrastructure: (Contacts: Mark Bain, (416) 865-7349, mbain@torys.com; Tara Mackay, (212) 880-6332 tmackay@torys.com) This practice represents Canadian, US and international clients in structuring, developing, constructing, financing, managing, operating, buying and selling infrastructure projects. The group is well known for its management of transactions involving all types of infrastructure and PPP projects.

Energy: (Contacts: Krista Hill, (416) 865-7953, khill@torys.com; Charles Keizer, (416) 865-7512 ckeizer@torys.com) Torys’ Energy Practice is a multidisciplinary group with extensive experience in all aspects of structuring, developing, permitting, constructing, financing, managing, operating, buying, selling, privatizing and decommissioning energy projects and assets. The firm advises on virtually every commercial power technology, including wind, solar, hydro, nuclear, thermal (natural gas, coal and oil), biomass and geothermal, as well as with the transmission and distribution of electricity.

Banking and Debt Finance: (Contacts: Adam Delean, (416) 865-8232, adelean@torys.com; Jonathan Weisz (416) 865-8157, jweisz@torys.com; Kevin Fougere, (403) 776-3746 kfougere@torys.com) Torys has extensive bench strength and experience in domestic and international debt-based financings. We represent borrowers and lenders in the public and private markets, acting on secured and unsecured bank financings, bond offerings, project financings, securitizations, derivatives and other debt-based financings arrangements. The firm is particularly renowned for its international financing expertise, including cross-border work between the US and Canada, and for its preeminent project finance team.

Competition and Foreign Investment Review: (Contacts: Dany Assaf, (416) 865-7303, dassaf@torys.com; Omar Wakil, (416) 865-7635, owakil@torys.com) Torys is internationally recognized as having one of Canada’s leading competition law practices. Our practice involves representing clients on all aspects of competition law, including complex merger review, cartel investigations and follow-on class actions, abuse of dominance and other reviewable matters, litigation, marketing and distribution, and compliance. In addition, Torys has a leading foreign investment practice, with extensive experience in handling Investment Canada Act reviews before both the Investment Review Division and the Cultural Sector Investment Review directorate.

Financial Services: (Contact: Blair Keefe, (416) 865-8164, bkeefe@torys.com) Torys acts as corporate counsel to some of Canada’s largest life insurance companies and banks, as well as to a number of property and casualty companies, merchant banks, and major foreign banks that have established Canadian banking subsidiaries or non-bank subsidiaries in Canada. We assist in mergers and acquisitions and divestitures; public and private financings in the US and Canada; demutualizations; cross-border tax, employment and insolvency matters; and dispute resolution. Torys also works with industry associations, regulators and governmental agencies on special projects and policy initiatives.

Intellectual Property: (Contacts: Eileen McMahon, (416) 865-7676, emcmahon@torys.com) Torys’ intellectual property lawyers, patent and trademark agents, and technical consultants serve clients in the life sciences, consumer products, e-commerce, media, telecommunications, financial services, manufacturing, energy, environmental and governmental sectors. Our services include the protection, commercial exploitation and management of intellectual property rights and assets, including patents, trademarks, copyright and industrial designs; intellectual property litigation; food and drug regulatory applications, approvals and agreements; marketing, packaging and labelling of products; and clinical trial arrangements.

Mining and Metals: (Contacts: Michael Amm, (416) 865-8140, mamm@torys.com; Michael Pickersgill, (416) 865-8180, mpickersgill@torys.com) Torys has a long history of involvement in all aspects of mining and mineral resource development, including in the complex domestic and international regulatory environments related to mining projects. Torys assists domestic and international clients with exploration and development agreements, royalty agreements, joint venture arrangements, engineering and service contracts, sales contracts and international concession arrangements.

Oil and Gas: (Contacts: Ron Deyholos, (403) 776-3718, rdeyholos@torys.com; Derek Flaman, (403) 776-3759,  dflaman@torys.com) Torys has a leading international practice advising explorers, producers, service providers, marketers and investors on a variety of oil and gas projects across Canada, the US and globally — from exploration and production to processing and transportation, as well as major corporate and M&A transactions.

Pensions and Employment: (Contact: Mitch Frazer, (416) 865-8220, mfrazer@torys.com) Torys’ full-service advice on pensions, benefits, employment and compensation, including on pension and benefit plans, fund administration, sponsorship, governance, and compliance with federal income tax law and provincial standards legislation. We also advise human resources personnel, compensation committees and directors on personnel practices; discrimination; employment, change-of-control, compensation, non-competition and confidentiality agreements; terminations; executive contracts; retention arrangements; supplementary retirement plans; and incentive-compensation arrangements, including stock options, phantom stock, share appreciation rights and deferred share unit plans.

Technology: (Contacts: Adam Armstrong, (416) 865-7336, aarmstrong@torys.com; David Chaikof, (416) 865-8126, dchaikof@torys.com) Torys’ Technology Practice represents domestic and multinational new-economy and traditional enterprises in their creation, acquisition, use and commercial exploitation of a multitude of technologies and intellectual property. We serve the spectrum of clients in the technology sector, including start-up enterprises, later-stage and growth companies, private equity firms, venture capital investors, lenders and technology-oriented investment dealers.

Tax: (Contacts: Corrado Cardarelli, (416) 865-7386, ccardarelli@torys.com; Jerald Wortsman, (416) 865-7384, jwortsman@torys.com) Torys provides Canadian and international tax management advice to multinational businesses, domestic public and private companies, financial institutions, issuers, private equity investment fund and pension fund sponsors, venture capital investors and start-up companies. The group is particularly known for its expertise in managing complex transactions and structuring challenges in the US and Canada.

Corporate Restructuring and Advisory: (Contacts: Tony DeMarinis, (416) 865-8162, tdemarinis@torys.com; William Gray, Jr., (212) 880-6336, wgray@torys.com) Torys’ highly experienced group of lawyers is dedicated to the practice of financial restructuring and insolvency. The firm has played a central role in most recent major Canadian corporate insolvencies, restructurings and workouts, and has extensive experience in Canada-US cross-border and other international bankruptcies, creditor-protection applications and reorganizations.

Environmental: (Contact: Dennis Mahony, (416) 865-8214, dmahony@torys.com) Torys has one of Canada’s most recommended environmental law groups. It is international in scope, with a particular focus on the US, Canada, Europe, Asia and Latin America. We advise on corporate transactions, including mergers and acquisitions, securities and debt financings; in litigation and dispute resolution, including environmental assessments, toxic torts, Superfund cases, and citizen-suit and criminal defence matters; on compliance and regulatory matters; on environmental management systems; and on the investigation, remediation and development of contaminated sites, including brownfields.

Real Estate: (Contact: David Dell, (416) 865-8100, ddell@torys.com) Torys’ commercial real estate lawyers advise on the development, ownership, management and leasing of retail, office, industrial, hotel, resort and residential projects, as well as on infrastructure projects. We represent US, Canadian and international investors, lenders and developers; vendors and purchasers in purchase and sale transactions; and borrowers and lenders in the public and private markets in conventional and innovative financing of commercial properties, and in project financing of industrial facilities.

For more information, please contact Les Viner, Managing Partner, at (416) 865-0040, or visit www.torys.com.

Toronto

79 Wellington St W, Suite 3000, Box 270, TD Ctr
Toronto, ON, Canada, M5K 1N2
Phone: (416) 865-0040
Fax: (416) 865-7380

Montréal

1 Place Ville Marie, Suite 2880
Montréal, QC, Canada, H3B 4R4
Phone: (514) 868-5600
Fax: (514) 868-5700

Halifax

1871 Hollis St, Suite 200
Halifax, NS, Canada, B3J 0C3
Phone: (902) 720-3500

New York City

1114 Ave of the Americas, 23rd Fl
New York City, NY, USA, 10036-7703
Phone: (212) 880-6000
Fax: (212) 682-0200

Calgary

8th Ave SW, Suite 525, Fl 46, Eighth Ave Pl E
Calgary, AB, Canada, T2P 1G1
Phone: (403) 776-3700
Fax: (403) 776-3800

Read more about Torys LLP in...

Big Deals, Suits or Real Estate Transactions

People Moves

Mentioned in Lexpert Publications

Torys LLP is a Lexpert-Ranked Firm in the following practice areas
Asset Equipment Finance/Leasing Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Asset Securitization Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Banking & Financial Institutions Calgary, Alberta Consistently recommended
Banking & Financial Institutions Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Class Actions Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Competition Law Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Computer & IT Law Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Corporate Commercial Law Calgary, Alberta Repeatedly recommended
Corporate Commercial Law Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Corporate Finance & Securities Calgary, Alberta Repeatedly recommended
Corporate Finance & Securities Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Corporate Tax Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Derivative Instruments Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Energy (Electricity) Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Energy (Oil & Gas) Calgary, Alberta Consistently recommended
Energy (Oil & Gas) Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Environmental Law Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Insolvency & Financial Restructuring Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Intellectual Property Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Investment Funds & Asset Management Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Litigation - Corporate Commercial Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Litigation - Intellectual Property Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Litigation - Product Liability Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Litigation - Securities Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Mergers & Acquisitions Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Mining Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Pensions & Employee Benefits Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Professional Liability Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Project Finance Calgary, Alberta Repeatedly recommended
Project Finance Toronto, Ontario Most frequently recommended
Property Development Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Property Leasing Toronto, Ontario Repeatedly recommended
Technology Transactions Toronto, Ontario Consistently recommended
Find a Torys LLP Lexpert-Ranked Lawyer in the:
Search Results: